PDA

View Full Version : Installing lion over leopard




acd30
Aug 10, 2012, 05:49 AM
I have OS X version 10.5.8 and since it isn't being supported by most companies anymore (ex. Blizzard) I wanted to upgrade to Lion. I then got a Lion USB because I read that I could download from 10.5.8 directly to Lion. However when I inserted the USB, my computer told me I couldn't download it on this version of OS X. I meet all of Lion's system requirements (excepting having snow leopard installed). So why can't I install it? Can someone give me step by step help?



heisenberg123
Aug 10, 2012, 06:31 AM
I'm thinking you need SL to go to lion as an upgrade you may have to clean install lion

acd30
Aug 10, 2012, 07:04 AM
I did some more research on this matter and I found that I need my installation disk (to wipe the hard drive and install Lion), however over the course of 5 years I've lost it =|

I tried inserting a Leopard installation disk so I but I get the message... "The application 'Install Mac OS X' cannot be used from this volume. To install Mac OS X, please use the application provided on the Mac OS X installation disc."

Macman45
Aug 10, 2012, 07:14 AM
I did some more research on this matter and I found that I need my installation disk (to wipe the hard drive and install Lion), however over the course of 5 years I've lost it =|

I tried inserting a Leopard installation disk so I but I get the message... "The application 'Install Mac OS X' cannot be used from this volume. To install Mac OS X, please use the application provided on the Mac OS X installation disc."

You need the discs that originally shipped with your Mac I'm afraid...Apple will sell them to you if you call with make , exact model and SN.

acd30
Aug 10, 2012, 07:19 AM
You need the discs that originally shipped with your Mac I'm afraid...Apple will sell them to you if you call with make , exact model and SN.

thanks for the advice =D

I guess I'll just search some more before I end up ordering a new one