Installing lion over leopard

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by acd30, Aug 10, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    I have OS X version 10.5.8 and since it isn't being supported by most companies anymore (ex. Blizzard) I wanted to upgrade to Lion. I then got a Lion USB because I read that I could download from 10.5.8 directly to Lion. However when I inserted the USB, my computer told me I couldn't download it on this version of OS X. I meet all of Lion's system requirements (excepting having snow leopard installed). So why can't I install it? Can someone give me step by step help?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #2
    I'm thinking you need SL to go to lion as an upgrade you may have to clean install lion
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #3
    I did some more research on this matter and I found that I need my installation disk (to wipe the hard drive and install Lion), however over the course of 5 years I've lost it =|

    I tried inserting a Leopard installation disk so I but I get the message... "The application 'Install Mac OS X' cannot be used from this volume. To install Mac OS X, please use the application provided on the Mac OS X installation disc."
     
  4. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    You need the discs that originally shipped with your Mac I'm afraid...Apple will sell them to you if you call with make , exact model and SN.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #5
    thanks for the advice =D

    I guess I'll just search some more before I end up ordering a new one
     

Share This Page