Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thankmelater23

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2012
Hi fellas,

My background: I'm a C++ programmer of two years. Learned it on my own and mostly make video games of 2d and 3d. I learned some objective c and how to program using xcode watching a couple of hours of video on youtube.

I am now looking to start programming for the iphone, but will need to purchase a macbook.

I just got a new job doing security where im working graveyard. I sit in a office and look at this as the perfect time to code.

I'm thinking of buying a Macbook laptop this week. Maybe later if you guys suggest I should save and wait.

I have about 700 dollars to spend and most laptops(Macbook Pro 17'') are 2008 versions used that I'm trying to purchase off of craigslist(used). The purpose of this laptop is for programming for the iphone and just watching and streaming movies.

I prefer a 15 inch, but would like you guys suggestion if this version of the macbook pro can get the job done? And im thinking the newer ones is probobly just overkill right???

Just want you guys input if you think the 2008 Macbook Pro 15" can get the job done. And is the RAM important?

Please guys any input is appreciated positive and negative just SPEAK!

Thank You...

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
Make sure whatever you buy can run Mountain Lion as the SDK will only be supported on that at some point. Apart from that it's down to personal preferences. I'd say try and get a hi-res 15" for the balance of portability and screen resolution.

ArtOfWarfare

macrumors G3
Nov 26, 2007
Make sure whatever you buy can run Mountain Lion as the SDK will only be supported on that at some point. Apart from that it's down to personal preferences. I'd say try and get a hi-res 15" for the balance of portability and screen resolution.