PDA

View Full Version : Why did AIM go into another desktop?




bob7up
Aug 29, 2012, 07:07 PM
Whenever I launch AIM it goes to another desktop, like this:

http://imgur.com/I7nBz.jpg



mrbrown
Aug 29, 2012, 08:21 PM
I'm more interested in what's going on in that uTorrent window...

Mike in Kansas
Aug 29, 2012, 10:14 PM
Whenever I launch AIM it goes to another desktop, like this:

Image (http://imgur.com/I7nBz.jpg)

With AIM running, right click on its icon in the dock. In the menu, hover on "options" and see what is selected. If it specifies a desktop, it will only open in that desktop. If you don't want it to do that, you can specify either "None" or "All Desktops". If you specify "None', it will open in the desktop you are on, but will not be visible in the other desktops as you swipe over to them or select them in Mission Control. If you select "All Desktops", it will again open up in the desktop you are on, but then also be visible in any other desktop you may swipe to or go to in Mission Control. This should fix your problem.

Another possibility is that you left it in full-screen mode when you quit it. If you open an app that you had left in full screen mode, it will go to full screen mode when you launch it and go to its own desktop. Taking it out of full screen mode before quitting it will allow it to open in the existing desktop next time you open it, assuming you don't have it opening in its own desktop as described in the previous paragraph.

GeorgieAcevedo
Aug 29, 2012, 11:25 PM
Why are you still using aim? Now that's the real question...

Ricanlegend
Aug 30, 2012, 01:21 AM
Why are you still using aim? Now that's the real question...

That not that crazy there's still 1 Million people paying aol lol

iAppl3Fan
Aug 30, 2012, 01:56 AM
Why are you still using aim? Now that's the real question...

hilarious. you crack me up.

----------

That not that crazy there's still 1 Million people paying aol lol

lol

----------

With AIM running, right click on its icon in the dock. In the menu, hover on "options" and see what is selected. If it specifies a desktop, it will only open in that desktop. If you don't want it to do that, you can specify either "None" or "All Desktops". If you specify "None', it will open in the desktop you are on, but will not be visible in the other desktops as you swipe over to them or select them in Mission Control. If you select "All Desktops", it will again open up in the desktop you are on, but then also be visible in any other desktop you may swipe to or go to in Mission Control. This should fix your problem.

Another possibility is that you left it in full-screen mode when you quit it. If you open an app that you had left in full screen mode, it will go to full screen mode when you launch it and go to its own desktop. Taking it out of full screen mode before quitting it will allow it to open in the existing desktop next time you open it, assuming you don't have it opening in its own desktop as described in the previous paragraph.

I agree with Mike. I would suggest the same.

bob7up
Aug 30, 2012, 03:26 AM
Why are you still using aim? Now that's the real question...

It's what I talk to my friends with.

isrefel
Aug 30, 2012, 12:26 PM
It's what I talk to my friends with.

Just incase you weren't aware, it is possible to use an AIM account with the messages app. Messages.app > Preferences > Accounts > Add Account (+)

djharris
Aug 30, 2012, 12:54 PM
It's what I talk to my friends with.

I prefer Adium because it supports a variety of protocols, but to each his own...

Does AIM still have ads? Adium doesn't, it's open source.