PDA

View Full Version : Reformatting iPod




tikibangout
Aug 13, 2005, 05:23 PM
Hi, I have the newest iPod 20GB color display. At first it was formatted to windows, but now I only use my iBook. How do I reformat it to Mac OS X?



Capt Underpants
Aug 13, 2005, 05:26 PM
Plug it in. There should be a message that pops up asking if you want to reformat it for use on a mac.

NOTE: A windows formatted iPod will work on a mac, though.

tikibangout
Aug 13, 2005, 05:28 PM
Plug it in. There should be a message that pops up asking if you want to reformat it for use on a mac.

NOTE: A windows formatted iPod will work on a mac, though.

I tried plugging it in. It shows up on the desktop, but no message.

I had problems though when I did have it connected. Such as all my songs getting erased.

Capt Underpants
Aug 13, 2005, 05:32 PM
I tried plugging it in. It shows up on the desktop, but no message.

I had problems though when I did have it connected. Such as all my songs getting erased.

Well if the songs you have on the iPod aren't in your iTunes library, they will get erased. The iPod only keeps what that particular iTunes library has.

the_freddinator
Aug 13, 2005, 05:40 PM
Try using the updater.

Capt Underpants
Aug 13, 2005, 05:43 PM
Try using the updater.

Which is in Appilcations -> Utilities -> iPod Software Updater

Well that's if you already have the update. If you don't have the update, check Software Update.