PDA

View Full Version : Larger Backpack 16" for MacBook air 13"?

ac4155
Sep 10, 2012, 09:59 AM
Hi all,

I'll be getting a MacBook air 13" soon and I'm thinking of getting a Wenger 16" pillar backpack, though it recommender for 15" laptops from what I rather. I'll also be carrying my iPad, books and other general things in it.

I just wonder what peoples experiences are for having a back pack which is larger than the laptop?

Thanks,
AC

Mlrollin91
Sep 10, 2012, 10:47 AM
Hi all,

I'll be getting a MacBook air 13" soon and I'm thinking of getting a Wenger 16" pillar backpack, though it recommender for 15" laptops from what I rather. I'll also be carrying my iPad, books and other general things in it.

I just wonder what peoples experiences are for having a back pack which is larger than the laptop?

Thanks,
AC

I have an Incase backpack, the one that holds a 17" laptop. I have an iPad and a MBA 11". I put both my MBA and iPad in a small sleeve and slide the laptop into the laptop pouch and then my iPad in the smaller pouch. Works perfectly in my opinion.

I would recommend getting a small sleeve for your MBA for added protection. Even though it may be in a separate place than your books and supplies, I noticed that books actually bent my MBP frame from the weight of them Especially with the air being so thin, better safe than sorry.

jbzcar
Sep 10, 2012, 10:48 AM
Hi all,

Thanks,
AC

If you are going to do that, I would probably get a sleeve or smaller slip-case for your Air and then place that inside the backpack.

Mrbobb
Sep 10, 2012, 11:32 AM
if the backpack already has a well padded compartment for it, ur good to go. If not, as others have suggested, probably a separate sleeve, this is regardless whether the backpack is larger or perfectly-fit.

"books bend the mba..." that's scary. I'd probably add some sort of extra rigid, but lightweight backing of some sort to it in which case.

stchman
Sep 10, 2012, 12:17 PM