PDA

View Full Version : repeat letters dont work, keyboard?




umbilical
Sep 13, 2012, 08:05 PM
why dont work on mountain repeat letters like put "zzzzzzzzzzzz" I need type z by z , whats the stupid idea of dont let us repeat letters? any solution? thanks



talmy
Sep 13, 2012, 08:35 PM
It's like that because it now allows a shortcut to diacritical marks. You can disable this feature and restore repeating alphabetic characters by typing the following command in Terminal:

defaults write -g ApplePressAndHoldEnabled -bool false

prisstratton
Sep 13, 2012, 09:35 PM
Or, if you prefer not to use the terminal, you can use one of the tweaking applications:

http://www.itweax.net

http://secrets.blacktree.com

http://tweaksapp.com/app/lion-tweaks/

umbilical
Sep 13, 2012, 11:08 PM
thank guys, nice for the apps and "hacks" I usually dont like that kinds of things that touch the system but damn I want repeat letters; why apple remove it? I dont get it... :mad:

thank you!

nyolc8
Sep 14, 2012, 03:48 AM
They removed it because of the special characters like ביצő... So for example if you press and hold "o", a mini popup should appear with special "צő" characters.

umbilical
Sep 14, 2012, 12:56 PM
They removed it because of the special characters like ביצő... So for example if you press and hold "o", a mini popup should appear with special "צő" characters.

yes I note that, but I hate that apple remove things and dont put optional, we can choose if we want somethings or not;

thank I remove that with the command line code ;)

thankssssssssssssssssssss

s0mojo
Sep 14, 2012, 05:17 PM
Was interested in this also, new to the mac side of things still

Julien
Sep 14, 2012, 05:56 PM
.....NOW IF APPLE WOULD JUST DISABLE TO CAPS LOCK KEY TOO....:eek:

talmy
Sep 14, 2012, 06:21 PM
.....NOW IF APPLE WOULD JUST DISABLE TO CAPS LOCK KEY TOO....:eek:

System Preferences --> Keyboard --> Keyboard --> Modifier Keys. Then you can set the Caps Lock key to something else: Command, Control, Option, or even "No Action".

Julien
Sep 14, 2012, 06:46 PM
system preferences --> keyboard --> keyboard --> modifier keys. Then you can set the caps lock key to something else: Command, control, option, or even "no action".

I SAID APPLE NOT USER.;) If left up to the user you get CAPS. :D