PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking a G4


MaxRool
Jan 16, 2002, 04:43 PM
After reading the article on 'G4 cracked to 1ghz', I was inspired to search the net for information on overclocking my machine. http://webusers.warwick.net/~u1034376/web (http://) .Apparently ('cause I just learned this) I have a Power Macintosh G4 (sawtooth) edition and I was able to up from 400Mhz to 450Mhz, a rather modest increase. I was rather hoping to achieve 500Mhz. :(

I am curious if any others have been successful with modifying their machines of the same type from 400Mhz to 500Mhz.

I am also considering purchasing the Sonnet Encore/ST G4 Duet (Dual 500Mhz G4 card) I am interested in any others experience with this card .

Jam samich
Jan 16, 2002, 04:47 PM
I have a Tibook 667 that i just clocked to 1.2 ghz.

Unregistered
Jan 16, 2002, 04:56 PM
Shutup

mischief
Jan 16, 2002, 05:02 PM
Mobo all laid out of the frame, keyboard sitting straight on the bench, intercooler pack dumping visible waves of heat. The empty shell propping up the monitor.

Onyxx
Jan 16, 2002, 05:10 PM
unless you have a constant flow of liquid nitrogen on you tibook, i highly doubt that you have obtained 1.2 ghz. I actually remember something about overclocking a mac color classic to 1 ghz using liquid nitrogen but i cant remember the link. aparently that little guy kicked the crap out of every mac on the market at that time but only did so for about 7-10 minutes before another dose of N was required. But hey, if you have achieved what you say, send us a link with a screen shot of your system profile and some benchmarks along with some pics of how you managed to cool that already toasty machine.
And instructions of course :D

Falleron
Jan 16, 2002, 05:14 PM
I doubt we shall ever see any evidence!

Jam samich
Jan 16, 2002, 05:15 PM
Im using quantum mechanics to clock my tibook.


liquid nitrogen is only good for a while.


i dont know how stable my mac is though since there is an uncertianty principle in effect on the quantum level.

mischief
Jan 16, 2002, 05:17 PM
Fire Photon torpoopdoes!

Nice try squirt.:rolleyes:

Jam samich
Jan 16, 2002, 05:19 PM
lol.

what the hell, some how i get the feeling you all dont believe me.


what can i do to prove it to you all?

Jam samich
Jan 16, 2002, 05:27 PM
CHeck this out..


http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1322277962


someone has a dvd r on a ti book.


I thought they were not producing the superdrives on tibooks.


this guy is lying like a ***** right?

tw9876z
Jan 16, 2002, 05:28 PM
can i do this to the powerbook g4?

mischief
Jan 16, 2002, 05:29 PM
Originally posted by Onyxx
if you have achieved what you say, send us a link with a screen shot of your system profile and some benchmarks along with some pics of how you managed to cool that already toasty machine.
And instructions of course :D
Just exactly that. Benchmarks and System profile data, preferrably with a digital camera so we can see the whole thing as it sits. Harder to fake with a low-ish quality digital pic.

Jam samich
Jan 16, 2002, 05:30 PM
oh damn...

didnt read all that...



EXTERNAL.


im a ***** ass.

davidc2182
Jan 16, 2002, 05:31 PM
you should read the ebay item more thoroughly he said you could connect an external DVD R drive via firewire not that it was internal, i say this guy is some pee cee weenie trying to get the mac ranks all riled up!

britboy
Jan 16, 2002, 05:32 PM
Originally posted by Jam samich
CHeck this out..


http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1322277962


someone has a dvd r on a ti book.


I thought they were not producing the superdrives on tibooks.


this guy is lying like a ***** right?


if you try reading the description carefully, you'll notice that the dvd-r is actually an external firewire model. So, could well be true :D

Unregistered
Jan 16, 2002, 05:34 PM
Originally posted by davidc2182
you should read the ebay item more thoroughly he said you could connect an external DVD R drive via firewire not that it was internal, i say this guy is some pee cee weenie trying to get the mac ranks all riled up!


yeah i looked at that more closely.

i hate morons like that.


dont ever buy from ***** wads that do that ****.

its like he is using the Billy Gates mentality.

Level head
Jan 16, 2002, 05:36 PM
Anyone wanna buy and iBook special edition 466

for 900?

Unregistered
Jan 16, 2002, 05:48 PM
Originally posted by Jam samich
I have a Tibook 667 that i just clocked to 1.2 ghz.

oh!!!!

great

can you tell me how you do this.

thank you

Jam Samich
Jan 16, 2002, 05:51 PM
Originally posted by Unregistered


oh!!!!

great

can you tell me how you do this.

thank you


through quantum mechanics my brotha!


i bypassed using liquid nitrogen.

Onyxx
Jan 16, 2002, 05:53 PM
to anyone who hasn't gotten this yet: THE ABOVE POST ABOUT A 1.2 GHZ TIBOOK IS ********. thank you.

Unregistered
Jan 16, 2002, 05:56 PM
Originally posted by Onyxx
to anyone who hasn't gotten this yet: THE ABOVE POST ABOUT A 1.2 GHZ TIBOOK IS ********. thank you.


Now why in the hell would you say that?

Exaclty why is it ********?

Explain please. Becuase im like sitting here freaking the hell out on what I just did to my tibook. Im actually looking at this sucker fly through filters like a mother phucker.

Jam samich
Jan 16, 2002, 05:58 PM
I forgot to put my name on the above thread...but that was me.



Okay. ... do you cats actually know about the quantum level on computers?

mischief
Jan 16, 2002, 05:58 PM
It appears The Dumbass is too dense to be effected. Take us out of here, maximum Geek!:rolleyes:

Jam samich
Jan 16, 2002, 06:01 PM
Originally posted by mischief
It appears The Dumbass is too dense to be effected. Take us out of here, maximum Geek!:rolleyes:


not dense, honest and real.

seriously. this is AMAZING.


Im waiting for it to crash though because of the quantum level being unstable.


ex: 7 atoms can calculate a basic math problem.

imagine what billions of atoms can calculate and the speed it does it at.

mischief
Jan 16, 2002, 06:05 PM
Or I'll bring out the yo mommas an make ya cry.

Lay out EXACTLY what you have done. Step by step. Plain english.

blackpeter
Jan 16, 2002, 06:40 PM
This dumbass watched one episode of The Screen Savers and he thinks he's Stephen Hawking. But seriously... This subject is worthy of it's own thread*

Scientists just got a quantum computer to proove that 3x5=15. This computer consisted of 7 Atoms. Quantum computers of the future will consist of millions (...then billions) of Atoms. Think of what they will be able to do... (scary)

"Shall we play a game...?"

mischief
Jan 16, 2002, 06:45 PM
I just want the little goof to spill it or bugger off and stop wasting our time.:rolleyes:

Unregistered
Jan 16, 2002, 07:20 PM
Originally posted by tfaz1
This dumbass watched one episode of The Screen Savers and he thinks he's Stephen Hawking. But seriously... This subject is worthy of it's own thread*

Scientists just got a quantum computer to proove that 3x5=15. This computer consisted of 7 Atoms. Quantum computers of the future will consist of millions (...then billions) of Atoms. Think of what they will be able to do... (scary)

"Shall we play a game...?"


Can I have a link to that info? YOu know about quantum computers?


thanks.

Catfish_Man
Jan 16, 2002, 07:39 PM
...on sites like macnn a few weeks ago about IBM's quantum computer. (I can't remember if it was macnn, but it was several of those news sites)

rEd Eye
Jan 17, 2002, 07:14 AM
On that note,I have my G4-400 clocked up to 2.7GHZ.Mind you,the mobo is sealed in a high temperature rubber coating,and frozen solid in a freezer half full of ice,with a freeeze coil also wrapped around the CPU.All those wires running in&out through 1 1/2"pvc tubing, to the box.:D

eyelikeart
Jan 17, 2002, 01:54 PM
I spend a few hours away from the boards....

and I miss out on all the fun!!

MaxRool
Jan 17, 2002, 02:54 PM
Hmm,
I guess by most of the responses the answer would be no then :)

eyelikeart
Jan 17, 2002, 02:59 PM
I think overclocking is fun to watch on someone else's machine, but would never attempt it upon my own....unless it was something old that I didn't care about. It seems too risky to me, plus I've heard it's a bitch to get someone qualified to work on your machine once it's been done since it voids any warranty u could have on it...

MaxRool
Jan 17, 2002, 03:08 PM
Its an old machine (2 years now). And I am an Electronics Technician by trade. And I figure at best I could learn something at worst I would have to replace the processor card.