PDA

View Full Version : 2 GB RAM on an emac?


daggett2
Sep 17, 2005, 09:19 AM
i'm considering buying a new emac and a certain reputable apple reseller tells me it can support 2GB RAM. this is nice since my only issue with the machine is the listed 1GB RAM limitation. thing is, i can't find anyone else who will come out and say that 2GB is ok. this particular reseller says the listed 1GB RAM is a conservative spec and this is a safe thing to do. can anyone offer any insight?
thx in advance

wwooden
Sep 17, 2005, 09:48 AM
From the apple website (http://www.apple.com/emac/specs.html), it says the eMac can only support up to 1GB or RAM. Maybe it is possible to put more in, but that is what apple says.

RGunner
Sep 17, 2005, 09:49 AM
Correct.

The eMac (2005) has two dimm slots both capable of supporting a 1gb chip.

Good luck!


i'm considering buying a new emac and a certain reputable apple reseller tells me it can support 2GB RAM. this is nice since my only issue with the machine is the listed 1GB RAM limitation. thing is, i can't find anyone else who will come out and say that 2GB is ok. this particular reseller says the listed 1GB RAM is a conservative spec and this is a safe thing to do. can anyone offer any insight?
thx in advance

mjstew33
Sep 17, 2005, 09:58 AM
Correct.

The eMac (2005) has two dimm slots both capable of supporting a 1gb chip.

Good luck!

This is great! As I am buying an eMac very, very soon!

Awesome.

BlizzardBomb
Sep 17, 2005, 10:04 AM
With the money you would spend on 2GB of RAM, you could probably get a low-end iMac.....

2GB is unnecessary for most people.

Eluon
Sep 17, 2005, 11:09 AM
go for the iMac G5 instead of the emac.

combatcolin
Sep 17, 2005, 11:12 AM
The iMac would make a much better choice.

And if you can afford it, go for the 20" model, i know its expensive but its worth it.

RGunner
Sep 17, 2005, 11:13 AM
and they lowered the price on the Refurb site yesterday... ($49 across most models).


The iMac would make a much better choice.

And if you can afford it, go for the 20" model, i know its expensive but its worth it.

Rod Rod
Sep 17, 2005, 01:14 PM
i'm considering buying a new emac and a certain reputable apple reseller tells me it can support 2GB RAM. this is nice since my only issue with the machine is the listed 1GB RAM limitation. thing is, i can't find anyone else who will come out and say that 2GB is ok. this particular reseller says the listed 1GB RAM is a conservative spec and this is a safe thing to do. can anyone offer any insight?
thx in advanceIt was confirmed by reader reports on xlr8yourmac.com that 167MHz f.s.b. eMacs can take up to 2GB of RAM.

You can never have "enough" money, hard drive space or RAM, so congratulations-in-advance for maxing out the eMac. 2GB is a good amount for OS X and it'll make your eMac experience great.