PDA

View Full Version : Safari won't remember its window size




parish
Nov 29, 2012, 03:27 PM
Well, at least not its height.

I push it up against the menu bar, and resize it downwards until it's just above the Dock, but if I exit and restart it, it has reverted to its original height. The top is in the same place, but the bottom edge has moved back to where it started.

Corrupt plist file perhaps?



lawlist
Nov 29, 2012, 03:42 PM
I am experiencing this with a number of different applications, and am ready to go back to Snow Leopard -- window position, window size, save as window, insert file window, . . . . utterly frustrating. I deleted all my user preference files and that didn't fix it.

Michaelgtrusa
Nov 30, 2012, 02:49 AM
Well, at least not its height.

I push it up against the menu bar, and resize it downwards until it's just above the Dock, but if I exit and restart it, it has reverted to its original height. The top is in the same place, but the bottom edge has moved back to where it started.

Corrupt plist file perhaps? Delete all support files and restart your Mac.

parish
Nov 30, 2012, 03:19 AM
Delete all support files and restart your Mac.

Thanks, but can you elaborate on "all support files" please?

Michaelgtrusa
Nov 30, 2012, 07:14 AM
Thanks, but can you elaborate on "all support files" please?

In user/library/preferences you will find at least two safari pref files, delete those. Then in user/library you will see a folder named Safari delete this folder, back up your bookmarks or remove them first, restart your mac and then test.

iwan073
Nov 30, 2012, 03:51 PM
Did it work?

parish
Nov 30, 2012, 03:58 PM
Did it work?

Not really. What happens now is I set the size then each time I open Safari the window is slightly taller than before (by about the height of the status bar) until it is the full height of the screen.

Jeez, can't believe this. :rolleyes:

EDIT I seem to have fixed it. I normally have a standard set of a dozen or so tabs always open (which open every time I start Safari). So I opened a new window, closed the original, quit, then restarted (so it started a single page open). This appears to have fixed it as I have quit and restarted several times and it now retains the window size - even now I've re-opened my standard tabs.

iwan073
Dec 3, 2012, 05:43 PM
EDIT I seem to have fixed it. I normally have a standard set of a dozen or so tabs always open (which open every time I start Safari). So I opened a new window, closed the original, quit, then restarted (so it started a single page open). This appears to have fixed it as I have quit and restarted several times and it now retains the window size - even now I've re-opened my standard tabs.

So now it remembers the window size for you?

parish
Dec 4, 2012, 02:07 AM
So now it remembers the window size for you?

Yes :)