PDA

View Full Version : MacPro 1,1 ML RAM Issue




Wind06
Nov 29, 2012, 03:36 PM
Hello,

MacPro 1,1 2006 successfully upgraded under ML.
I can have until 7GB of Ram without any issue.
Trying to have 8 or 9, the mac is booting but the display stay in Grey mode :(

When booting under Windows, no issue the 9 Gb of Ram can be seen, so no issue with the Ram itself.
Booting the Mac using Safe mode no issue either 9Gb seen.

Is this a known issue, no more than 7GB of Ram can be used ?
If so is there a fix that can be applied ?

Sorry if this topic is already available, but did not found it.

Thanks for any help, or advice :)



hwojtek
Nov 29, 2012, 04:38 PM
I'd rather say it's got something to do with the 1,1 being a non-ML-compatible computer. Even with chameleon as a bootloader.

PeterHolbrook
Nov 29, 2012, 04:58 PM
I'd rather say it's got something to do with the 1,1 being a non-ML-compatible computer. Even with chameleon as a bootloader.

I have a Mac Pro 1,1 with 11Gb of RAM using Chameleon. No problem.

hwojtek
Nov 30, 2012, 06:14 AM
I still need to try installing ML on my 1,1...

Wind06
Nov 30, 2012, 07:17 AM
I do not use Chameleon, I will give a try.

Whih version are you using?

Thanks,
Erik

PeterHolbrook
Nov 30, 2012, 11:23 AM
I do not use Chameleon, I will give a try.

Whih version are you using?

Thanks,
Erik

2.2svn-r2129 is the latest one I'm using.

Wind06
Nov 30, 2012, 03:00 PM
2.2svn-r2129 is the latest one I'm using.

I tried to found this version without success, so I found this one that I installed
2.2svn-r2134 but the result is the same.

below is what I got when trying to boot with more than 7gb of Rams...

Thanks for any help

PeterHolbrook
Nov 30, 2012, 09:03 PM
I tried to found this version without success, so I found this one that I installed
2.2svn-r2134 but the result is the same.

below is what I got when trying to boot with more than 7gb of Rams...

Thanks for any help

You are probably using a hacked version of an OS X basic component. The system should be clean and you need an additional MBR-partitioned, blessed disk to boot the system. I suggest that you follow the tutorial at http://www.jabbawok.net/?p=47 to the letter. It works flawlessly.

Good luck.

Wind06
Dec 2, 2012, 11:09 AM
You are probably using a hacked version of an OS X basic component. The system should be clean and you need an additional MBR-partitioned, blessed disk to boot the system. I suggest that you follow the tutorial at http://www.jabbawok.net/?p=47 to the letter. It works flawlessly.

Good luck.

will give a try, but do I need to buy an SSD&Adapter card?
Can't I use an internal SATA drive in the MacPro to do the work ?
I do not understand why Jabbawok did not use one of internal SATA connectors ?

Thanks

PeterHolbrook
Dec 2, 2012, 11:29 AM
Can't I use an internal SATA drive in the MacPro to do the work ?
I do not understand why Jabbawok did not use one of internal SATA connectors ?

Thanks

Yes, you can use one of the internal SATA drives in the Mac Pro. The use of an SSD adapter card is optional. It might accelerate the Chameleon boot process, which is slower than the usual, EFI boot.

Wind06
Dec 2, 2012, 11:40 AM
Yes, you can use one of the internal SATA drives in the Mac Pro. The use of an SSD adapter card is optional. It might accelerate the Chameleon boot process, which is slower than the usual, EFI boot.

Cool, thanks - will try :)

Wind06
Dec 2, 2012, 03:19 PM
It works :) you where absolutely right thanks PeterHolbrook
I can have 9Gb of RAM available.

Thanks a lot for your help.

Now I may need to have an SSD card to speed up boot ;)

Wind06
Dec 4, 2012, 02:16 PM
Hi Again,

I now have an other issue, but do not find a way to fix it.
I would like to install Windows 8 on HD, but ML BootCamp is not working
on my unsupported Mac :(

Who knows how should I proceed, is there an existing topic for this?
Should I boot from Lion to do the installation.

I already have Windows 7 installed before ML upgrade.

Thanks.....

Siderz
Dec 4, 2012, 05:51 PM
MacPro 1,1 2006 successfully upgraded under ML.
I can have until 7MB of Ram without any issue.
Trying to have 8 or 9, the mac is booting but the display stay in Grey mode :(

I had to read your post a few times.

When you say '7MB', do you mean '7GB'?

Please update this, it's very confusing.

PeterHolbrook
Dec 4, 2012, 05:56 PM
ML BootCamp is not working
on my unsupported Mac :(

Very true. In any case, since you already have Windows 7 in place, you should be able to upgrade to Windows 8. Before you do so, however, you might want to do the following. Get someone with a more modern Mac to download the Boot Camp 5.0 image for you on a pen drive, or burn a CD with it. Once you have that, go to the Windows 7 Control Panel and uninstall Boot Camp. Next, run a Cmd shell as an Administrator and, using DOS commands, navigate to the Boot Camp image, find the Apple subfolder, or, if necessary, the 64-bit version of the Apple subfolder. Locate the .msi installer and run it. That should install the latest Boot Camp drivers on your unsupported system.

After that, you can easily upgrade to Windows 8.

Wind06
Dec 5, 2012, 01:52 AM
I had to read your post a few times.

When you say '7MB', do you mean '7GB'?

Please update this, it's very confusing.

Hi Siderz, :eek: yes you are right, corrected :cool:

----------

Very true. In any case, since you already have Windows 7 in place, you should be able to upgrade to Windows 8. Before you do so, however, you might want to do the following. Get someone with a more modern Mac to download the Boot Camp 5.0 image for you on a pen drive, or burn a CD with it. Once you have that, go to the Windows 7 Control Panel and uninstall Boot Camp. Next, run a Cmd shell as an Administrator and, using DOS commands, navigate to the Boot Camp image, find the Apple subfolder, or, if necessary, the 64-bit version of the Apple subfolder. Locate the .msi installer and run it. That should install the latest Boot Camp drivers on your unsupported system.

After that, you can easily upgrade to Windows 8.

ok will try, again many thanks for your help