Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RebornTheGame

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 1, 2012
Qld, Australia
I cannot be sure when my woes first started, but the last few days I have realized that I have an intermittent problem where the Finder starts 'not responding'. It then locks up the software that is trying to use Finder (eg Save As with Outlook, MS Word, Adobe CS).

I am not which is the chicken and the egg here, but I have noticed that my Time Machine sits looking for the backup folder on my Time Capsule.

Sometimes this prevents me for shutting down my machine correctly.

I have tried using Disk Utility to do a repair disk and repair disk permissions. Both now indicate the machine is clean.

I am on a rMBP and using ML10.8.2.

I am new to OSX - having started using it in July 2012.

I have been telling all my Window friends how stable and wonderful life is on a Mac, but now I am wondering if the joke is on me.

Can anyone suggest anything I haven't already tried?

justperry

macrumors G5
Aug 10, 2007
I'm a rolling stone.
I cannot be sure when my woes first started, but the last few days I have realized that I have an intermittent problem where the Finder starts 'not responding'. It then locks up the software that is trying to use Finder (eg Save As with Outlook, MS Word, Adobe CS).

I am not which is the chicken and the egg here, but I have noticed that my Time Machine sits looking for the backup folder on my Time Capsule.

Sometimes this prevents me for shutting down my machine correctly.

I have tried using Disk Utility to do a repair disk and repair disk permissions. Both now indicate the machine is clean.

I am on a rMBP and using ML10.8.2.

I am new to OSX - having started using it in July 2012.

I have been telling all my Window friends how stable and wonderful life is on a Mac, but now I am wondering if the joke is on me.