PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to force an application to run in the background?




Garrod
Dec 10, 2012, 01:25 PM
Is there a way to force an application to run in the background or is there an application that will let me do this? Here's my problem:

I'm importing / exporting lots of video clips. Each on has to be touched up before exporting. When they're exporting I like to play (don't laugh!) Deer Hunter Reloaded which I got via the App Store. However, if I want to go back to my video work (or anything else for that matter) on my Mac I have to quit DHR each time - Command + Tab doesn't work whilst the game is running.

I know it's not that important but a solution would be truly appreciated.



simsaladimbamba
Dec 10, 2012, 01:28 PM
That is the nature of most full screen games in Mac OS X, one cannot simply use CMD+TAB (like Alt+Tab in Windows) to get out of the game without quitting it.
I have not found a solution yet to circumvent that, but I also rarely play games (every couple of months for a few days or so).


____________________________________________________________

Maybe have a look at Advanced Search (http://forums.macrumors.com/search.php) or MRoogle (http://mroogle.chaseh.net/) to find similar threads while you wait for more answers:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10644330/MR_Image_Hotlinks/MR_screenshots/MR_screenshots_2011_11/2011_11_02_pB1_MR_advSearch_small.png (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10644330/MR_Image_Hotlinks/MR_screenshots/MR_screenshots_2011_11/2011_11_02_pB2_MR_advSearch.png)
____________________________________________________________

HabSonic
Dec 10, 2012, 01:36 PM
Assign "show desktop" to a hot corner. It works in many games.

Garrod
Dec 10, 2012, 01:42 PM
Assign "show desktop" to a hot corner. It works in many games.

Alas, this doesn't work with Deer Hunter Reloaded. Thanks for the advice though.

BlaqkAudio
Dec 10, 2012, 02:51 PM
What about cmd+m or cmd+h? Also, I found out that pressing the buy tab temporarily forces the game to go into a window while opening up the MAS.

Garrod
Dec 11, 2012, 02:10 AM
What about cmd+m or cmd+h? Also, I found out that pressing the buy tab temporarily forces the game to go into a window while opening up the MAS.

Thank-you for your advice but this doesn't work either. Maybe there's a market for a 'force switch application' application?

Garrod
Dec 25, 2012, 12:28 PM
Sorry to double post but I've found a solution (of sorts) to my original problem that might benefit others. The game in question, Deer Hunter Reloaded, uses the Unity game engine. I've found that I can switch between applications just by hitting Command+F. It's messy...but it works!

Braniff747SP
Dec 25, 2012, 12:30 PM
Sorry to double post but I've found a solution (of sorts) to my original problem that might benefit others. The game in question, Deer Hunter Reloaded, uses the Unity game engine. I've found that I can switch between applications just by hitting Command+F. It's messy...but it works!


Thanks; I'll try it with some others to see if it works on my end.

Edit: Does not work for me. Rockstar has the game locked down, I guess.