Is it possible to force an application to run in the background?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Garrod, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #1
    Is there a way to force an application to run in the background or is there an application that will let me do this? Here's my problem:

    I'm importing / exporting lots of video clips. Each on has to be touched up before exporting. When they're exporting I like to play (don't laugh!) Deer Hunter Reloaded which I got via the App Store. However, if I want to go back to my video work (or anything else for that matter) on my Mac I have to quit DHR each time - Command + Tab doesn't work whilst the game is running.

    I know it's not that important but a solution would be truly appreciated.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    That is the nature of most full screen games in Mac OS X, one cannot simply use CMD+TAB (like Alt+Tab in Windows) to get out of the game without quitting it.
    I have not found a solution yet to circumvent that, but I also rarely play games (every couple of months for a few days or so).


    ____________________________________________________________

    Maybe have a look at Advanced Search or MRoogle to find similar threads while you wait for more answers:
    [​IMG]
    ____________________________________________________________
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Assign "show desktop" to a hot corner. It works in many games.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #4
    Alas, this doesn't work with Deer Hunter Reloaded. Thanks for the advice though.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #5
    What about cmd+m or cmd+h? Also, I found out that pressing the buy tab temporarily forces the game to go into a window while opening up the MAS.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #6
    Thank-you for your advice but this doesn't work either. Maybe there's a market for a 'force switch application' application?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #7
    Sorry to double post but I've found a solution (of sorts) to my original problem that might benefit others. The game in question, Deer Hunter Reloaded, uses the Unity game engine. I've found that I can switch between applications just by hitting Command+F. It's messy...but it works!
     
  8. Braniff747SP, Dec 25, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    Braniff747SP

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    #8

    Thanks; I'll try it with some others to see if it works on my end.

    Edit: Does not work for me. Rockstar has the game locked down, I guess.
     

Share This Page