PDA

View Full Version : remove lid completely


state_of
Oct 1, 2005, 02:09 PM
Does anyone knows if I remove the lid competely from an ibook G4 1GHZ
if a. would it still works (with an external monitor)
b. would the 32MB of the ati 9200 would still be shared between the external monitor and the non existent one :D
?
I decided to take such action because the lcd is completely ruined and apple here in Greece wants more than 600 euros to replace the lcd (no way)
So I turned it to a desktop computer... I am quite satisfied that way but I would like the extra 16MB of memory from the graphic adapter that I am currently loosing

grapes911
Oct 1, 2005, 02:12 PM
Removing the lid won't get you back the lost Video RAM. I personally would look for a store that does apple repairs and see what they are will charge you. Sometimes 3rd Party Mac Repairs are up to half the price that Apple charges.

mkrishnan
Oct 1, 2005, 02:23 PM
Also I have heard of screen mechanisms being available on eBay type services quite frequently...might be one somewhere in EU-land that wouldn't cost you too much....

mjstew33
Oct 1, 2005, 02:30 PM
Take off the monitor, download the hack, enable clamshell mode, get a magnet to make the computer think the lid is closed (find out where to put it to activate). = 32MB VRAM

that should work. ;)

Patmian212
Oct 1, 2005, 04:00 PM
Take off the monitor, download the hack, enable clamshell mode, get a magnet to make the computer think the lid is closed (find out where to put it to activate). = 32MB VRAM

that should work. ;)

Pure genius, just be carefull with the magnet get a WEAK one.

state_of
Oct 1, 2005, 04:35 PM
Well I though of that but Sleepless doesn't seem to work on my ibook...it used to work in 10.3.6 but not in 10.3.9. But I read that it works fine with 10.4.2 so maybe I'll update to tiger before attempting anything :)

maxterpiece
Oct 1, 2005, 05:05 PM
ebay the ibook. If your ibook is anything better than, like an 800mhz G3 you will get enough to buy a mac mini.

mjstew33
Oct 2, 2005, 12:04 AM
Well I though of that but Sleepless doesn't seem to work on my ibook...it used to work in 10.3.6 but not in 10.3.9. But I read that it works fine with 10.4.2 so maybe I'll update to tiger before attempting anything :)
You'll probably notice a significant speed increase if you have enough RAM if you go up to Tiger before you do anything.