remove lid completely

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by state_of, Oct 1, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #1
    Does anyone knows if I remove the lid competely from an ibook G4 1GHZ
    if a. would it still works (with an external monitor)
    b. would the 32MB of the ati 9200 would still be shared between the external monitor and the non existent one :D
    ?
    I decided to take such action because the lcd is completely ruined and apple here in Greece wants more than 600 euros to replace the lcd (no way)
    So I turned it to a desktop computer... I am quite satisfied that way but I would like the extra 16MB of memory from the graphic adapter that I am currently loosing
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    Removing the lid won't get you back the lost Video RAM. I personally would look for a store that does apple repairs and see what they are will charge you. Sometimes 3rd Party Mac Repairs are up to half the price that Apple charges.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Also I have heard of screen mechanisms being available on eBay type services quite frequently...might be one somewhere in EU-land that wouldn't cost you too much....
     
  4. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    Take off the monitor, download the hack, enable clamshell mode, get a magnet to make the computer think the lid is closed (find out where to put it to activate). = 32MB VRAM

    that should work. ;)
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Pure genius, just be carefull with the magnet get a WEAK one.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #6
    Well I though of that but Sleepless doesn't seem to work on my ibook...it used to work in 10.3.6 but not in 10.3.9. But I read that it works fine with 10.4.2 so maybe I'll update to tiger before attempting anything :)
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    maxterpiece

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    #7
    ebay the ibook. If your ibook is anything better than, like an 800mhz G3 you will get enough to buy a mac mini.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    You'll probably notice a significant speed increase if you have enough RAM if you go up to Tiger before you do anything.
     

Share This Page