PDA

View Full Version : Install MatLab w/ Tiger, it says I don't have X11??




GimmeSlack12
Oct 20, 2005, 06:09 AM
Ok I'm trying to install MatLab 7.0 R14 on Tiger 10.4.2 , it is the student version and it is saying that I have to have X11 installed on my machine. But I installed X11. Isn't that what the XCode Developer tools are? I installed the XCode packages that were in my Application/Installers folder and figured I was good to go. I installed MatLab but it said it won't open until I install X11. Even though I have the developer folder in my root directory the MatLab program won't open (can't find it?). Help.



TDM21
Oct 20, 2005, 06:30 AM
Go to Applications > Utilities and see if X11 is there. If not then you didn't install it. I believe it is a separate package all together. There should be a package on your Tiger DVD that installs it. If not, you can download X11 from Apples website at [url]http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/apple/x11formacosx.html[url].

caveman_uk
Oct 20, 2005, 06:31 AM
Nope the X11 package is a separate thing and is not in the developer tools. It's on your tiger DVD as an optional post-Tiger install install.

GimmeSlack12
Oct 20, 2005, 01:30 PM
Ok cool, got the X11 running. I knew it had to be something mundane and simple like that.
Cheers guys, I'm back on track.