PDA

View Full Version : 12" Powerbook on 20" ACD


toomuchstereo
Oct 23, 2005, 03:45 PM
I'm about to pick up a new 12" powerbook, and can't find any data on what resolution it will run in extended desktop. So my question is if it will run my 20" ACD at native resolution?

YS2003
Oct 23, 2005, 03:49 PM
Your 12" pb should run 20" or 23" ACD at the native resolutions. You can do so in the screen spanning mode or clam shell mode. My 12" PB is set up in the clam shell mode with a 20" ACD as 20" screen is more than enough. PB's graphic card is powerful enough to run either ACDs. But, no 30" though.

toomuchstereo
Oct 23, 2005, 03:53 PM
Clam shell mode is with the screen shut right? And are these features built in to Tiger?

1nsanity
Oct 23, 2005, 04:05 PM
Clam shell mode is with the screen shut right? And are these features built in to Tiger?

Yes, I use mine in clamshell mode all the time, since for the next few months I don't need portability.

I actually ahve a dell24fpw connected to it. Close the lid then press any mouse or keyboard connected to the laptop and the ext. monitor will become the main display.

YS2003
Oct 23, 2005, 04:07 PM
Yes, the clam shell mode is to use an external screen only by closing the PB. All PBs come with this feature. I am not sure if that is OS specific.

toomuchstereo
Oct 23, 2005, 04:09 PM
Thanks alot, i appreciate your support, and the order is in with apple can't wait. Should be great to help me with college, nice big monitor at home and small 12" on the road.

sososowhat
Nov 3, 2005, 02:06 PM
Can I run my 12" Powerbook (recent vintage) just for itunes, with either speakers or headphones, with the screen shut? It seems to go to sleep when I try it.

SummerBreeze
Nov 3, 2005, 02:09 PM
I have a 12" PowerBook and an external display as well, works beautifully. I love being able to take my PowerBook with me, but I can also have the feel of a desktop when I'm at home.

Sososowhat, your PB won't run with the lid closed unless it's hooked up to an external monitor, keyboard and mouse. Otherwise, it will just go to sleep.

wako
Nov 3, 2005, 02:13 PM
you have to have the PB plugged in witht he charger and a screen plugged in as well. Use your keyboard or mouse to wake it up and then the computer will come out of sleep and you can use it.