PDA

View Full Version : mac os x

starfleet4
Dec 14, 2002, 09:32 PM
i'm really new to mac. i am a pc tech who made the convert. now a copy of win xp home is about 200-300 depending on where u shop. all u do is pop in the cd and it formats your drive and installs. how does installing os x work? how much does it cost and is it something you could walk into a store and buy? thanks for the help. mac people really are in a different class

scem0
Dec 14, 2002, 09:45 PM
well, mac os x sure wont cost u as much as XP or other windoze OS's
and isntalling is very simple. You put in the CD and follow the
instructions. It isn't too long, and I don't hear of people having
errors when installing ever. SO I wouldn't worry about installing
OS X.

It costs $120 on amazon, but Im sure you can find it as low as $80
or $90 somewhere.

FattyMembrane
Dec 14, 2002, 09:56 PM
if you're a student or government employee, you can get discounts down to about $60-70. it should be available in any compusa. first, make sure that you have a mac that can support osx, then, just put in the cd and restart the computer while holding down the "c" key. it's as easy as that. you can choose to reformat the drive, or just install osx on top of whatever os9 installation you have on there.

starfleet4
Dec 14, 2002, 10:05 PM
hey. fatty mem how ya doin. thanks for the info guys. i'm still waiting for the adapter cable i ordered so i can hook it up to a monitor. after ripping the machine apart and thoroughly cleaning it inside and out including keyboard and mouse i found that i had tyo rebuild the fan assembly and power supply unit. cant wait till monday's delivery. can i also find copies of os 9. i dont believe osx will run on this machine. is there a certain amount of ram that each os needs to run like a windows os needs? ie: xp requires 128mb ram.

Rower_CPU
Dec 14, 2002, 10:10 PM
starfleet4:

How about you check out Apple's OS X pages for all sorts of good specs and instructions...