PDA

View Full Version : iBook RAM


dmachine
Oct 29, 2005, 11:07 PM
My girlfriend has an iBook G4 that she got in december of 2003 and has 640MB of RAM in it and it says that the maximum is 640MB. Would it harm the iBook if I put more RAM into it or would it just not recognize it?

CanadaRAM
Oct 29, 2005, 11:24 PM
My girlfriend has an iBook G4 that she got in december of 2003 and has 640MB of RAM in it and it says that the maximum is 640MB. Would it harm the iBook if I put more RAM into it or would it just not recognize it?
If it is an iBook G4 not a G3, then the machine is capable of 1.25 GB RAM with a 1 Gb module .

If you are in the USA, I recommend Data Memory Systems (http://www.datamem.com/viewcat.asp_Q_C_E_1132)

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com

Edit- corrected model

drater
Oct 30, 2005, 12:06 AM
If it is an iMac G4 not a G3, then the machine is capable of 1.25 GB RAM with a 1 Gb module .

If you are in the USA, I recommend Data Memory Systems (http://www.datamem.com/viewcat.asp_Q_C_E_1132)

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com

he said ibook, not imac....if you put in more it wouldn't be able to read it, don't waste your money. used to have a g4 800mhz and 640 is the highest it would go. check out www.crucial.com

iEdd
Oct 30, 2005, 12:46 AM
I have a G3 powerbook (in sig) that says it's maximum is 256 in each slot, for a total of 512MB. I put in a 512MB+128MB for 640 and it all works. I think in fact I can have up to a GB :)
Moral of story: a lot of limits were based on the biggest dimms available back then.

disconap
Oct 30, 2005, 12:49 AM
Yeah, like the Sawtooth G4s can only run a gig. I run 1.5 gigs, they just didn't have the 512s back them...

CanadaRAM
Oct 30, 2005, 01:10 AM
he said ibook, not imac....if you put in more it wouldn't be able to read it, don't waste your money. used to have a g4 800mhz and 640 is the highest it would go. check out www.crucial.com
Wrong. Crucial's spec is out of date.

Dreadnought
Oct 30, 2005, 02:42 AM
According to Mactracker (a little app that has the history and specs of all Macs ever made) you can go up to 1.12 GB. Apple says only 640 MB, because when they came out the 1 GB dimms weren't available yet (at least not for a normal price).

dmachine
Nov 3, 2005, 10:36 AM
Her iBook is the G4 800mhz. What type of RAM does this model take?

luna crescent
Nov 3, 2005, 11:29 AM
Wait a sec, does that mean my g3 900 mhz laptop can go beyond the maximum thershold of 640 mb ram?

I'm planning to buy ram now and getting a 512 mb ram module for grand total of 640 mb ram.

Where can I buy a gig ram and would it work?

dmachine
Nov 3, 2005, 12:31 PM
Thats what I want to do is get a 1GB stick for hers so she doesnt have any problems running Tiger.

Dreadnought
Nov 3, 2005, 12:38 PM
Wait a sec, does that mean my g3 900 mhz laptop can go beyond the maximum thershold of 640 mb ram?

I'm planning to buy ram now and getting a 512 mb ram module for grand total of 640 mb ram.

Where can I buy a gig ram and would it work?
Unfortunately the G3 iBooks do have a maximum of 640 MB of Ram. It doesn't recognize the rest, or you have to replace the memory that is soldered onto the motherboard. Also, to my knowledge there isn't a 133 Mhz so-dimm that goes higher then 512 MB, is there?