PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake leaves out main chapters




freeny
Oct 31, 2005, 12:23 PM
Ive been trying to rip a dvd to the pod. For some reason handbrake leaves out any reference to chapter 21 all together. this happens to be the main feature chapter. ive ripped both chapter 23 and 24, them being the longest and assumedly the feature. this rips all but the first 10 minutes of the film. ive even ripped all the other chapters in hopes they are the missing segments but to no avail. any suggestions?



Loge
Oct 31, 2005, 02:06 PM
Handbrake seems a bit hit and miss when it comes to finding all of the content on the DVD. If it's missing you could try an older version of Handbrake (I've had some success with this), or another DVD ripping tool.

clayj
Oct 31, 2005, 02:27 PM
Wow... I haven't even been checking in Handbrake to make sure it was catching all of the chapters.

Ah well... guess I'll see if there's anything missing when I actually WATCH any of the movies I've ripped. :)

EDIT: Hang on a minute... that looks like a list of TITLES, not chapters. Are you using Mac the Ripper to rip the DVD to HD first, or are you using Handbrake to do everything?

Sky Blue
Oct 31, 2005, 03:04 PM
use 0Sex to rip the DVD into 1 VOB file, then process that in HB.

freeny
Oct 31, 2005, 03:07 PM
use 0Sex to rip the DVD into 1 VOB file, then process that in HB.
osex?

2nyRiggz
Oct 31, 2005, 03:10 PM
osex?

LOL, was thinking the same thing but i left it alone......guess u didnt:rolleyes:

freeny
Oct 31, 2005, 03:11 PM
LOL, was thinking the same thing but i left it alone......guess u didnt:rolleyes:
well it turns out this is an actual program. will try it.

freeny
Oct 31, 2005, 03:14 PM
use 0Sex to rip the DVD into 1 VOB file, then process that in HB.
please be a little more specific. settings etc. by the way this app does recognise the missing chapters. so far so good.

clayj
Oct 31, 2005, 03:15 PM
please be a little more specific. settings etc. by the way this app does recognise the missing chapters.Chapters, or titles? This is an important difference... can you post a larger screenshot illustrating the problem?

And what version of Handbrake are you using? My version (0.7.0-beta3) does not list chapters in the way you've shown, but it does list TITLES that way.

freeny
Oct 31, 2005, 03:18 PM
Chapters, or titles? This is an important difference... can you post a larger screenshot illustrating the problem?

And what version of Handbrake are you using? My version (0.7.0-beta3) does not list chapters in the way you've shown, but it does list TITLES that way.
Im referring to the app "osex" not "handbrake". dont know this program so a little assistance would be greatly appreciated.

and for your second Q- im using handbrake 7.0 beta3. its leaving out titles not chapters.

clayj
Oct 31, 2005, 03:22 PM
Im referring to the app "osex" not "handbrake". dont know this program so a little assistance would be greatly appreciated.

and for your second Q- im using handbrake 7.0 beta3. its leaving out titles not chapters.Whew.

I only do main feature extraction, which extracts ONE title... so I've never run into this problem.

freeny
Oct 31, 2005, 03:26 PM
Whew.

I only do main feature extraction, which extracts ONE title... so I've never run into this problem.
I am doing a main feature extraction. this is the first time ive come across this issue. the dvd is one of those "special edition" directors cut blah blah blah. deleted scenes etc. it may have some special layout with some chapters/titles being referance chapters or alias's. its just the title which is the main feature is missing in handbrake. when i watch the movie the player says title 21. in handbrake there is no title 21. and yes my innitial title for this thread is incorrect. should be "handbrake leaves out main titles" (has been corrected)

Loge
Oct 31, 2005, 06:22 PM
Maybe it's an issue more with Region 2 DVDs but for me if Handbrake doesn't find the content from the DVD itself, it doesn't fare any better with the same if it's copied using MacTheRipper or OSEx. The only thing that's worked has been going back to an older copy of Handbrake, and sometimes not even then.

freeny
Oct 31, 2005, 07:06 PM
Maybe it's an issue more with Region 2 DVDs but for me if Handbrake doesn't find the content from the DVD itself, it doesn't fare any better with the same if it's copied using MacTheRipper or OSEx. The only thing that's worked has been going back to an older copy of Handbrake, and sometimes not even then.
so perhaps some dvds are unripable?