Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

musika

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Sep 2, 2010
New York
I'd like to start this topic by saying that I already ordered this machine this afternoon, so I can't really justify this post other than saying it's out of pure geekery.

So, I'm a musician by day, a writer by night (speaking of which, I don't feel like proofing this post so I apologize in advance for any typos), and soon to be a student at college somewhere in between that. Two years ago, I bought a specced-out Mac mini (2011) for my studio, did an entire album on that, and it's been and still is an incredible machine. The mini is underrated. I love it. I've also been using an iPad 2 as my portable for the past two years and that's been excellent, too.

But I've faced a new problem. I'm going to be away from my studio (and Mac mini) for most of next year while I'm at school. I'm close by (only 35 minutes away), so I will be back and forth, but I need a MacBook for working with Logic Pro, ProTools, Max MSP, and all of that stuff while I'm at school. I'm also working on a project now that involves more electronic music, which means I'll be incorporating a MacBook into my live performances as well.

So while I loved the Mac desktop/iPad combo, I need to add a notebook to the workflow.

So I decided to buy a new 2013 MacBook Air 11-inch, 1.7GHz Core i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, and some nice AppleCare.