PDA

View Full Version : G4 TO G5 upgrade?


monkeychild
Nov 12, 2005, 11:35 AM
Hey pplz.
I just have a little question for u guys.
My family and I bought a Mac a while ago. It was originally a PowerMacintosh G3 but they upgraded it to a G4.
Do you think it's possible to ugrade that to a G5?

Dont Hurt Me
Nov 12, 2005, 11:39 AM
Hey pplz.
I just have a little question for u guys.
My family and I bought a Mac a while ago. It was originally a PowerMacintosh G3 but they upgraded it to a G4.
Do you think it's possible to ugrade that to a G5?No its impossible so the answer is a 100% No.

monkeychild
Nov 12, 2005, 11:42 AM
ok.... any reason why?

denial
Nov 12, 2005, 11:46 AM
ok.... any reason why?

Because whilst a G3 to G4 upgrade card was released for that model there has not been a G4 to G5 card released. So it's simply impossible.

And would there even be a market for it? People would much prefer to buy a base iMac G5.

Sun Baked
Nov 12, 2005, 11:49 AM
ok.... any reason why?Yes, it would be like trying to install a Lingenfelter Turbo kit designed for the newest Corvette on a stock Ford Model T.

Two entirely different engine technologies, even though they are both gasoline engines.

Even if you get the Turbo kit to work on the Model T, you are still stuck with a vehicle not designed for the performance of the new equipment.

monkeychild
Nov 12, 2005, 11:49 AM
ok but do u need a G5 to run os X

denial
Nov 12, 2005, 11:52 AM
ok but do u need a G5 to run os X

No. G3 or G4 is fine (G4 preferred of the two of course).

You mean Tiger OS?

Sun Baked
Nov 12, 2005, 11:53 AM
ok but do u need a G5 to run os XYou need a computer with built in USB to run Tiger and a DVD drive is a huge bonus for installation.

Basically, buy a Mac Mini.

monkeychild
Nov 12, 2005, 11:55 AM
ya tiger

Sun Baked
Nov 12, 2005, 11:56 AM
ya tigerOoops Panther was USB...

Tiger requires a machine with Firewire.

If that's a beige box, no go.

monkeychild
Nov 12, 2005, 12:05 PM
i have a usb port if thats what u mean

Sun Baked
Nov 12, 2005, 12:12 PM
i have a usb port if thats what u meanIf you want to run Tiger, you need built in Firewire.

Basically these machines...

http://www.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/requirements.html

and you will also need a DVD capable drive, or you will have to try to get a hold of the CD version.

So this machine

http://images.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/images/requirements_g307112002.jpg

will work, but you might not be able to use the DVD boxed retail version -- if you don't have a DVD drive.

monkeychild
Nov 12, 2005, 12:17 PM
alright looks like the best choice would be just to save up for a new machine
we've had this one for a couple of years now anyways
thanks for your help

denial
Nov 12, 2005, 12:39 PM
A nice Mac Mini would suit you well.