PDA

View Full Version : HELP Powerbook won't stay awake


dummptyhummpty
Nov 17, 2005, 11:52 PM
In regards to my last post I called apple because my powerbook kept sleeping randomly. I would have it plugged in fully charged and it would just sleep while I was using it. We did all sorts of tests and resetting this and that and it was working fine. I thought maybe Application Enhancer was causing the problem. So all of a sudden it starts acting up today and it got so bad that it would sleep every 3 seconds or so. I finally pulled the battery and the power cord and it seems to be ok now. What can I do, I can't take this and I need to use this computer! Thanks!

mad jew
Nov 18, 2005, 12:08 AM
What did you reset? Did you reset the PMU?

dummptyhummpty
Nov 18, 2005, 12:12 AM
What did you reset? Did you reset the PMU?

The PMU, Disabled all my start up programs, ran the disk checker from the Tiger CD, disabled sleep, airport, bluetooth. It was fine for a week and all of a sudden it started acting up today. Oh I even re-calibrated the battery.

mad jew
Nov 18, 2005, 12:28 AM
it got so bad that it would sleep every 3 seconds or so.


Is it the entire computer or just the display that's sleeping?


I finally pulled the battery and the power cord and it seems to be ok now.


So, how's it getting its power? A different battery or adaptor or something?


What can I do, I can't take this and I need to use this computer! Thanks!


Talk to Apple again? This is sounding pretty bad, sorry I can't be very helpful. :o

dummptyhummpty
Nov 18, 2005, 12:32 AM
Is it the entire computer or just the display that's sleeping?

The whole computer. Like every thing stops and the little sleep light comes on.


So, how's it getting its power? A different battery or adaptor or something?


I reconnected everything. I just did that to turn it off.


Talk to Apple again? This is sounding pretty bad, sorry I can't be very helpful. :o

I guess. I'll call them tomorrow.

Counterfit
Nov 18, 2005, 01:56 AM
There's a switch by the display latch button that tells the PB to sleep when you close the lid. It's possible (probable?) that this is malfunctioning. Also, make a backup and reinstall Tiger, just to rule out (or fix ;)) any software issue.

dummptyhummpty
Nov 20, 2005, 02:57 AM
There's a switch by the display latch button that tells the PB to sleep when you close the lid. It's possible (probable?) that this is malfunctioning. Also, make a backup and reinstall Tiger, just to rule out (or fix ;)) any software issue.

Well I have it plugged into an external monitor so it is always closed. Do I have to erase all my programs to reinstall tiger or what? How do I do this?

generik
Nov 20, 2005, 03:15 AM
Well I have it plugged into an external monitor so it is always closed. Do I have to erase all my programs to reinstall tiger or what? How do I do this?

You can do a archive and install using the OSX dvds that came with your machine.

dummptyhummpty
Nov 20, 2005, 05:15 PM
You can do a archive and install using the OSX dvds that came with your machine.

Thanks I called apple again and we reset the NVRAM and something else ram related. Hopefully that works. He said if it doesn't I need to archive and install.

WeeShoo
Nov 20, 2005, 11:05 PM
By any chance, did you spill NyQuil into it?

Will Cheyney
Nov 21, 2005, 04:03 AM
?