PDA

View Full Version : YAY! My Quad has arrived ... any optimize speed suggestions?


AznBboy58
Nov 19, 2005, 09:02 PM
YAY! I got a call from my local Apple Store today and they are holding their first Quad that they recieved for me to pick up tomorrow!

Now that its here, I want to know if you guys have any suggestions on optimizing its performance to the max! I have the machine with the following specs so far:

PowerMac Quad 2.5 G5
2.5GB DDR2-SDRAM
10,000RPM RAPTOR 74GB SATA DRIVE (boot drive)
7200RPM HITACHI DESKSTAR 500GB SATA2 DRIVE (scratch disk/storage drive)
Nvidia 6600 SE 256MB graphics card
30" Apple Cinema Display

I am going to order another 2GB of RAM and upgrade the graphics card to whatever comes out as a kit that is most powerful. Are there any other suggestions to help optimize the speed performance of this machine?

I'll be using it for Final Cut Studio stuff mainly ...

I'll get up pics when I can :p

mjstew33
Nov 19, 2005, 09:18 PM
You've got a dream setup as it is. Get as much RAM as you can afford ;)

iGary
Nov 19, 2005, 09:21 PM
YAY! I got a call from my local Apple Store today and they are holding their first Quad that they recieved for me to pick up tomorrow!

Now that its here, I want to know if you guys have any suggestions on optimizing its performance to the max! I have the machine with the following specs so far:

PowerMac Quad 2.5 G5
2.5GB DDR2-SDRAM
10,000RPM RAPTOR 74GB SATA DRIVE (boot drive)
7200RPM HITACHI DESKSTAR 500GB SATA2 DRIVE (scratch disk/storage drive)
Nvidia 6600 SE 256MB graphics card
30" Apple Cinema Display

I am going to order another 2GB of RAM and upgrade the graphics card to whatever comes out as a kit that is most powerful. Are there any other suggestions to help optimize the speed performance of this machine?

I'll be using it for Final Cut Studio stuff mainly ...

I'll get up pics when I can :p

"How do I speed up my Quad with 4 gigs of RAM and a 10,000 rpm Raptor?"

Christ, that's a stupid question. :rolleyes:

And how did you get it with options that aren't even available CTO?

mjstew33
Nov 19, 2005, 09:23 PM
"How do I speed up my Quad with 4 gigs of RAM and a 10,000 rpm Raptor?"

Christ, that's a stupid question.
:rolleyes:
Sort of a stupid question, but hey, he's a noobie we all learn :).

Refer to the Mac Helping Guide in my signature for extra help :)

Bear
Nov 19, 2005, 09:28 PM
Remember to check internally for damage (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=162187).

fklehman
Nov 19, 2005, 09:33 PM
If you want it to move REALLY fast, you could load it into your car and do whatever the car will do. Or you could throw it out the window of a tall building, let's see, acceleration of gravity is 9.81 meters per second, you get it going real fast that way...

dmw007
Nov 19, 2005, 10:09 PM
If you want it to move REALLY fast, you could load it into your car and do whatever the car will do. Or you could throw it out the window of a tall building, let's see, acceleration of gravity is 9.81 meters per second, you get it going real fast that way...

I can't say that I would reccomend either of these options...the results could be less than desirable. ;) :)

Hyernel
Nov 19, 2005, 10:34 PM
The only thing you need to do to get blazing speed from your new Quad is...

1.) Secure the cat
2.) Press the power button on your Quad G5
3.) Re-secure the cat

Lacero
Nov 19, 2005, 10:36 PM
I'll be using it for Final Cut Studio stuff mainly ...
If you run any rendering tests or benchmarking with FCS, post it. Thanks.

Hyernel
Nov 19, 2005, 10:37 PM
I am going to order another 2GB of RAM... :p


I recently got a 2GB Ram upgrade from DMS http://www.datamem.com/viewcat.asp_Q_C_E_1179 Only $200 bucks, and so far no problems with it.

plinkoman
Nov 19, 2005, 10:46 PM
this ought to do it for ya

mjstew33
Nov 19, 2005, 11:15 PM
Basically, we're saying that you've got the fastest Mac out there. There isn't anything you need to do other than, ummm... use it. ;)

AznBboy58
Nov 19, 2005, 11:39 PM
lol .. i kinda got the hint :cool:

I guess I already did all I could to maximize its components. Just thought I'd ask ...

AznBboy58
Nov 19, 2005, 11:39 PM
"How do I speed up my Quad with 4 gigs of RAM and a 10,000 rpm Raptor?"

Christ, that's a stupid question. :rolleyes:

And how did you get it with options that aren't even available CTO?

I bought all the other parts separately.

camomac
Nov 19, 2005, 11:39 PM
And how did you get it with options that aren't even available CTO?

yeah, i would really like to know this too.

Xephian
Nov 19, 2005, 11:45 PM
I wish Apple would include 10K RPM drives as BTO for the Power Macs.

fklehman
Nov 19, 2005, 11:52 PM
What the hell you planning to do with that thing? Bring down a UFO? Hey, you might even pull 30fps on Doom III!:D :D :D

PS: What GPU did you get, the FireGL?

Nuc
Nov 20, 2005, 12:01 AM
If you want it to move REALLY fast, you could load it into your car and do whatever the car will do. Or you could throw it out the window of a tall building, let's see, acceleration of gravity is 9.81 meters per second, you get it going real fast that way...
Don't you mean meters per second squared :D couldn't resist. ;)

Nuc

fklehman
Nov 20, 2005, 12:06 AM
Don't you mean meters per second squared :D couldn't resist. ;)
Nuc

Yeah, I skipped the squared in the interests of brevity...probably shouldn't have in retrospect, since most people around here are probably physics nuts.

pionata
Nov 20, 2005, 12:14 AM
If you get realy drunk, you might actualy feel like your quad is going faster.

But, congrats, you got my dream computer.

hogo
Nov 23, 2005, 12:20 PM
I will be using my Quad primarily with logic pro and i've recently heard that you shouldn't mix RAM dimm's of varying size. I'm aware of the pairing necessity but i was wondering if anyone has heard of problems with this. I recieved my quad with 4x1gb RAM and want to add some 2gb dimms down the road. Any advice would be appreciated.

Bear
Nov 23, 2005, 03:12 PM
I will be using my Quad primarily with logic pro and i've recently heard that you shouldn't mix RAM dimm's of varying size. I'm aware of the pairing necessity but i was wondering if anyone has heard of problems with this. I recieved my quad with 4x1gb RAM and want to add some 2gb dimms down the road. Any advice would be appreciated.Memory has to be added in pairs of identical dimms. Adding 2GB memory dimms won't be an issue.

The first couple of revisions of iMac G5s performed better if they had two identical dimms in them.

I intend on doing the same thing once 2GB dimms drop to under $300 each.

hogo
Nov 26, 2005, 09:22 PM
Thanks for the reply, i would hate to have to sell my other soul to get all new ram and toss the 1gb dimms!:)

FFTT
Nov 27, 2005, 01:16 AM
The image above is great!


OR..... if you have nerves of steel, you could gut a pair of XBox 360's
and install 2 IBM tripple core processors. :D

I would love to see the results of your benchmarks posted here AND
at Tom's Hardware Guide.

In fact you might want to check with them about the tests they'd like to see.

Congratulations!

maestro55
Nov 27, 2005, 02:07 AM
*drools*

Sounds like an awesome set-up. Now you need to post a very good review, so I can email it to my ex-yearbook advisor who bought a Powerbook last march. I need to convince her to purchase a G5 Desktop because it is faster and more powerful, and then she could give me her Powerbook.. HAA!

Anyhow, very very sweet specs on that machine. My dream mac set-up would run be about 10K and sure enough this would be my work horse :)

SmurfBoxMasta
Nov 27, 2005, 07:03 AM
I wish Apple would include 10K RPM drives as BTO for the Power Macs.

Why? so they can charge you 2-2.5x what they cost elsewhere......like they already do for regular HDDs & Ram :mad:

SmurfBoxMasta
Nov 27, 2005, 07:04 AM
this ought to do it for ya

s w e e e t :D

jamesW135
Nov 27, 2005, 07:09 AM
Well, That is the fastest mac around but you could get more ram to make it even faster!:p

FFTT
Nov 27, 2005, 12:41 PM
BTW Speaking of RAM.

Datamem.com has 2X 1GB total 2GB DDR2 kits on sale for the Quads for

$178.00

http://www.datamem.com/parts_that_fit_view.asp_Q_K_E_254918_A_M_E_Power+Mac+G5+Quad+2%2E5GHz+%28M9592LL%2FA%29_A_MF_E_Apple _A_C_E_