PDA

View Full Version : NOT Full Screen from 20inch to ibook! HELP




baboo2
Dec 29, 2005, 03:46 PM
I have a G4 Ibook with Screenhack
I have a 2005FPW Dell monitor

Problem:
I hooked it up on vga then used detect display. I chose the best one, 1680 by 1050

The quality it shows on the dell is amazing BUT will only fill in 3/4 of the screen. There is a huge border remaining, the resolution is already on highest, anyone know why it isnt showing it on full screen .
Thanks



mkrishnan
Dec 29, 2005, 03:51 PM
1680x1050 is the screen native resolution. So if it's showing in 3/4 of the screen, it cannot be 1680x1050 on the screen. Try unplugging and re-plugging the monitor from the iBook / putting the iBook to sleep and re-waking it. After you do that, if it still looks the way it does, then see if it still says it's on 1680x1050?

Laser47
Dec 29, 2005, 04:09 PM
Which screen spanning hack are you using?

buryyourbrideau
Dec 29, 2005, 04:29 PM
I dont know if I am right but the max res you might be able to get on the dell is 1024x768 because thats the max res the iBook graphics card supports.

Laser47
Dec 29, 2005, 04:46 PM
Well if youre not running a screen hack then the only way you will be able to get resolutions above 1024x768 would be to run a screen hack which is avalible from http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html

reh
Dec 29, 2005, 05:15 PM
Try "Auto Adjust" under "Image Settings" on the Dell display on-screen settings thingy.

baboo2
Dec 30, 2005, 12:37 AM
1) I Have Screen Doctor v0.3.3
2) I tried the auto adjust on the dell monitor
3) I tried unplugging / sleeping my ibook

No luck still, I have some pictures to show if it is any help or you can help me msn/email: baboo2@hotmail.com

Ps: What is a free webstorage place since I want to post the pics I took ( under 10mb stoarge is fine)

mjstew33
Dec 30, 2005, 12:47 AM
I dont know if I am right but the max res you might be able to get on the dell is 1024x768 because thats the max res the iBook graphics card supports.
Without a hack.

reberto
Dec 30, 2005, 01:04 AM
I dont know if I am right but the max res you might be able to get on the dell is 1024x768 because thats the max res the iBook graphics card supports.
no wrong, it is just the max that the MONITOR supports, not the screen. The last video card I saw that could only handle up to 1024x768 was the gfx card built into the 7100's

Eluon
Dec 30, 2005, 02:16 AM
I use Photobucket (http://www.photobucket.com) for all my image hosting. It is wonderful! Best of luck to ya

Platform
Dec 30, 2005, 04:39 AM
I use Photobucket (http://www.photobucket.com) for all my image hosting. It is wonderful! Best of luck to ya

WTH has that got to do with a Dell not viewing full res :confused:

bigandy
Dec 30, 2005, 05:12 AM
WTH has that got to do with a Dell not viewing full res :confused:

i thought that too, had to re- read the thread twice to see what was going on. maybe i should get some sleep!

Laser47
Dec 30, 2005, 11:11 AM
Ps: What is a free webstorage place since I want to post the pics I took ( under 10mb stoarge is fine)
I use Photobucket (http://www.photobucket.com) for all my image hosting. It is wonderful! Best of luck to ya

See the connection?

Anyways try uninstalling the screen hack and installing it again, see if that works.
After reading the forums on the screen doctor website, lots of people have their ibook working with that monitor so you ibook should work with it.

20rogersc
Dec 30, 2005, 11:30 AM
If you only need to host one or two pics, I would use Image Shack (http://www.imageshack.us).

::20ROGERSC::

baboo2
Dec 31, 2005, 02:04 PM
Thanks Eulon.
After reinstalling and intensive testing this is what I can conclude:
- When it is on mirroring using the best resolution does not make it full screen
-HOWEVER, when I use extended desktop, using the max resolution , it WILL give me a full clear display on my Dell 2005FPW but will lose the full screen once i turn mirroring back on


-Thus I can say that there is some bug/flaw in the Screen Doctor as it is only in beta mode. As for clamshell mode, I will try that later =)

Pics
<img src="http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d83/baboo2004/comp2.jpg" alt="Image hosted by Photobucket.com">

<img src="http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d83/baboo2004/comp.jpg" alt="Image hosted by Photobucket.com">

reh
Dec 31, 2005, 02:11 PM
-Thus I can say that there is some bug/flaw in the Screen Doctor as it is only in beta mode. As for clamshell mode, I will try that later =)
There is no bug. That is how it should work. By definition, both displays are displaying the same content at the same resolution in mirroring mode.

buryyourbrideau
Dec 31, 2005, 02:18 PM
Thanks Eulon.
After reinstalling and intensive testing this is what I can conclude:
- When it is on mirroring using the best resolution does not make it full screen
-HOWEVER, when I use extended desktop, using the max resolution , it WILL give me a full clear display on my Dell 2005FPW but will lose the full screen once i turn mirroring back on


-Thus I can say that there is some bug/flaw in the Screen Doctor as it is only in beta mode. As for clamshell mode, I will try that later =)

Pics
<img src="http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d83/baboo2004/comp2.jpg" alt="Image hosted by Photobucket.com">

<img src="http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d83/baboo2004/comp.jpg" alt="Image hosted by Photobucket.com">
iBook's are not intended for clamshell use as the air is vented partially through the keyboard. But whatever you wanna do!

Counterfit
Dec 31, 2005, 02:31 PM
Also, the image tags for VBulletin are not HTML. ;)

image url is correct.
<img src=image url> will only work on HTML pages, and any forum that has enabled HTML tags.

baboo2
Dec 31, 2005, 02:33 PM
I agree with reh, so there is no way of viewing full screen in mirroing mode. And I think clamshell mode SHOULD be fine. I will try it later as I will also leave the ibook slightly open.

Side Note: The Dell 2005fpw is really useful, because I plug my dvi to my PC Computer and VGA into the ibook, thus I can switch between them easily without unplugging. Also it has external usb ports on the sides where my keyboard+ mouse is bluetooth so I can just swap the usb bluetooth and my ibook will have an external keyboard/mouse

ChrisFromCanada
Dec 31, 2005, 02:33 PM
As for the monitor, make sure you are using screen spanning not screen mirroring. To do this uncheck screen mirroring in system preferences.

reh
Dec 31, 2005, 02:40 PM
I agree with reh, so there is no way of viewing full screen in mirroing mode. And I think clamshell mode SHOULD be fine. I will try it later as I will also leave the ibook slightly open.
This display has many options for scaling and stretching the picture. You can scale 1024x768 out so it hits the top and bottom of the screen while leaving black bars on the sides. Or you can distort the picture to actually fill the screen. All these settings are on the monitor's on-screen controls.

baboo2
Dec 31, 2005, 02:46 PM
re the unchecking of the mirroring mode, that is exactly what I did and when i uncheck it, full screen at best resolution works but when it is on mirroing it doesn't. Also I guess i can expand the screen manually but it would not be as crisp. Anyways thanks for the help guys

reh
Dec 31, 2005, 02:49 PM
re the unchecking of the mirroring mode, that is exactly what I did and when i uncheck it, full screen at best resolution works but when it is on mirroing it doesn't. Also I guess i can expand the screen manually but it would not be as crisp. Anyways thanks for the help guys
You are explaining exactly what should be happening.

ITASOR
Dec 31, 2005, 02:52 PM
re the unchecking of the mirroring mode, that is exactly what I did and when i uncheck it, full screen at best resolution works but when it is on mirroing it doesn't. Also I guess i can expand the screen manually but it would not be as crisp. Anyways thanks for the help guys

You can't mirror at 2 different resolutions, that defeats the purpose. If it mirrored at two different resolutions, you wouldn't be giving a full 32MB of VRAM to each screen...you would be splitting it as the video card would have to render another picture at the 2nd resolution. Understand? That's why you mine as well do spanning, as it would be the same thing as mirroring at two different resolutions.

gekko513
Dec 31, 2005, 02:54 PM
re the unchecking of the mirroring mode, that is exactly what I did and when i uncheck it, full screen at best resolution works but when it is on mirroing it doesn't. Also I guess i can expand the screen manually but it would not be as crisp. Anyways thanks for the help guys
How can you expect screen mirroring to work at best resolution on both displays? It's not logically possible when the displays don't have the same native resolution, hence one of them will have to be stretched or not fill the entire screen.