NOT Full Screen from 20inch to ibook! HELP

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by baboo2, Dec 29, 2005.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    I have a G4 Ibook with Screenhack
    I have a 2005FPW Dell monitor

    Problem:
    I hooked it up on vga then used detect display. I chose the best one, 1680 by 1050

    The quality it shows on the dell is amazing BUT will only fill in 3/4 of the screen. There is a huge border remaining, the resolution is already on highest, anyone know why it isnt showing it on full screen .
    Thanks
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    1680x1050 is the screen native resolution. So if it's showing in 3/4 of the screen, it cannot be 1680x1050 on the screen. Try unplugging and re-plugging the monitor from the iBook / putting the iBook to sleep and re-waking it. After you do that, if it still looks the way it does, then see if it still says it's on 1680x1050?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
  4. macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    I dont know if I am right but the max res you might be able to get on the dell is 1024x768 because thats the max res the iBook graphics card supports.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #5
  6. reh
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #6
    Try "Auto Adjust" under "Image Settings" on the Dell display on-screen settings thingy.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    1) I Have Screen Doctor v0.3.3
    2) I tried the auto adjust on the dell monitor
    3) I tried unplugging / sleeping my ibook

    No luck still, I have some pictures to show if it is any help or you can help me msn/email: baboo2@hotmail.com

    Ps: What is a free webstorage place since I want to post the pics I took ( under 10mb stoarge is fine)
     
  8. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    Without a hack.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    reberto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #9
    no wrong, it is just the max that the MONITOR supports, not the screen. The last video card I saw that could only handle up to 1024x768 was the gfx card built into the 7100's
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    #10
  11. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #11
    WTH has that got to do with a Dell not viewing full res :confused:
     
  12. macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #12
    i thought that too, had to re- read the thread twice to see what was going on. maybe i should get some sleep!
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #13
    See the connection?

    Anyways try uninstalling the screen hack and installing it again, see if that works.
    After reading the forums on the screen doctor website, lots of people have their ibook working with that monitor so you ibook should work with it.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    20rogersc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #14
    If you only need to host one or two pics, I would use Image Shack.

    ::20ROGERSC::
     
  15. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #15
    Thanks Eulon.
    After reinstalling and intensive testing this is what I can conclude:
    - When it is on mirroring using the best resolution does not make it full screen
    -HOWEVER, when I use extended desktop, using the max resolution , it WILL give me a full clear display on my Dell 2005FPW but will lose the full screen once i turn mirroring back on


    -Thus I can say that there is some bug/flaw in the Screen Doctor as it is only in beta mode. As for clamshell mode, I will try that later =)

    Pics
    <img src="http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d83/baboo2004/comp2.jpg" alt="Image hosted by Photobucket.com">

    <img src="http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d83/baboo2004/comp.jpg" alt="Image hosted by Photobucket.com">
     
  16. reh
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #16
    There is no bug. That is how it should work. By definition, both displays are displaying the same content at the same resolution in mirroring mode.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #17
    iBook's are not intended for clamshell use as the air is vented partially through the keyboard. But whatever you wanna do!
     
  18. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #18
    Also, the image tags for VBulletin are not HTML. ;)

    Code:
    [img]image url[/img]
    is correct.
    <img src=image url> will only work on HTML pages, and any forum that has enabled HTML tags.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #19
    I agree with reh, so there is no way of viewing full screen in mirroing mode. And I think clamshell mode SHOULD be fine. I will try it later as I will also leave the ibook slightly open.

    Side Note: The Dell 2005fpw is really useful, because I plug my dvi to my PC Computer and VGA into the ibook, thus I can switch between them easily without unplugging. Also it has external usb ports on the sides where my keyboard+ mouse is bluetooth so I can just swap the usb bluetooth and my ibook will have an external keyboard/mouse
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #20
    As for the monitor, make sure you are using screen spanning not screen mirroring. To do this uncheck screen mirroring in system preferences.
     
  21. reh
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #21
    This display has many options for scaling and stretching the picture. You can scale 1024x768 out so it hits the top and bottom of the screen while leaving black bars on the sides. Or you can distort the picture to actually fill the screen. All these settings are on the monitor's on-screen controls.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #22
    re the unchecking of the mirroring mode, that is exactly what I did and when i uncheck it, full screen at best resolution works but when it is on mirroing it doesn't. Also I guess i can expand the screen manually but it would not be as crisp. Anyways thanks for the help guys
     
  23. reh
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #23
    You are explaining exactly what should be happening.
     
  24. macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #24
    You can't mirror at 2 different resolutions, that defeats the purpose. If it mirrored at two different resolutions, you wouldn't be giving a full 32MB of VRAM to each screen...you would be splitting it as the video card would have to render another picture at the 2nd resolution. Understand? That's why you mine as well do spanning, as it would be the same thing as mirroring at two different resolutions.
     
  25. macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #25
    How can you expect screen mirroring to work at best resolution on both displays? It's not logically possible when the displays don't have the same native resolution, hence one of them will have to be stretched or not fill the entire screen.
     

Share This Page