PDA

View Full Version : PS CS1 color stays grayscale - help!




Plymouthbreezer
Feb 12, 2006, 02:53 PM
I need this fixed, and it's bothering me to no end.

I go to switch the color, and I can pick it in the color picker, but it only switches grays when I go to fill. What's the matter?!? I can't fill anything with colors anymore, and I have a graphic I need designed by tomorrow!



benwa02
Feb 12, 2006, 03:09 PM
Have you checked Image - > Mode - > and see if it says grayscale there, if so then click either CMYK or RGB

Plymouthbreezer
Feb 12, 2006, 03:40 PM
Have you checked Image - > Mode - > and see if it says grayscale there, if so then click either CMYK or RGB
Nope, in fact, I think that made it worse.

Is there anyway to reset PS's settings to the defaults?

Orlando Furioso
Feb 12, 2006, 07:12 PM
The only thing I can think of that would do this is that you currently have a layer mask selected instead of the actual layer content. Check to see what you have selected in your layers panel: It is either the layer thumbnail itself, or the layer mask thumbnail (assuming you are using one to begin with). With the latter selected, your "colors" will display with their grayscale equivalents.

Plymouthbreezer
Feb 12, 2006, 08:30 PM
The only thing I can think of that would do this is that you currently have a layer mask selected instead of the actual layer content. Check to see what you have selected in your layers panel: It is either the layer thumbnail itself, or the layer mask thumbnail (assuming you are using one to begin with). With the latter selected, your "colors" will display with their grayscale equivalents.That did it. Thank you. :)