PDA

View Full Version : Java or C++

NWAMacTech
Feb 15, 2006, 08:36 PM
I have been researching this question for quite some time and just to further that research I would like all of you experienced programmers opinion. I would like to make a career move, I have always enjoyed programming playing with VB, PHP, and the like but I am not a developer. Where should I start, in your opionion what languages will be most important to watch in the next few years. I want to make myself as marketable as possible however i know that may not be simple.

Mitthrawnuruodo
Feb 15, 2006, 08:45 PM
If you're new to Object-Oriented Programming, then I would recommend to start with Java, and then when you feel you master that you're ready for C++, because Java is more educational/intuitive and not quite as messy/picky as C++. If you know Java then C++ should be fairly easy...

On the other hand, if you're comfortable with the concept of OOP and like to fiddle with details then go for some straight C and on to C++. ;)

NWAMacTech
Feb 15, 2006, 08:48 PM
I probably shoudl have asked in my orig. question. Can you recommend soem good books on java and or c++. I know there are lots out there and some i have looked at just suck.

bousozoku
Feb 15, 2006, 09:13 PM
I probably shoudl have asked in my orig. question. Can you recommend soem good books on java and or c++. I know there are lots out there and some i have looked at just suck.

Try Bruce Eckel's Thinking in Java and his Thinking in C++ books.

Java is definitely a better language to learn because it's closer to a pure object-oriented language but C++ is a very popular language (for buffer overflows) on many platforms.

jsw
Feb 15, 2006, 09:16 PM
Ditto on Eckel.

As far as which language: after about a decade with C++ and close to that with Java (very little overlap, so the C++ was a while ago), my personal preference is Java.