PDA

View Full Version : Easy Question for the right person




Peyton
Feb 19, 2006, 04:10 PM
Hi, I made a website using dreamweaver and its only visible through IE. http://clydegilpin.com/slideshow.asp
That's the link, it looks just as I want it to in IE, what can I do to change the code to make it more compatable? Safari? FF?

Thanks for any advice



grapes911
Feb 19, 2006, 04:16 PM
It's an asp page. This is a MS technology. While I personally like ASP, it isn't the best format for universal browsing.

If you are just using the ASP extension not the technology, then just change the extension to something more universal.

Peyton
Feb 19, 2006, 04:19 PM
It's an asp page. This is a MS technology. While I personally like ASP, it isn't the best format for universal browsing.

If you are just using the ASP extension not the technology, then just change the extension to something more universal.

Such as? I tried several actually, but those didn't work with IE so I didn't know. I used htm, a java one, several that I can't remember.

mac 2005
Feb 19, 2006, 04:23 PM
Such as? I tried several actually, but those didn't work with IE so I didn't know. I used htm, a java one, several that I can't remember.

There also are some very easy to use DHTML scripts available to provide the functionality you're after. You can also "link" the images to more information on your site. Also, the scripts are free.

Image Slideshows (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/index.html)

radiantm3
Feb 19, 2006, 04:36 PM
The problem isn't ASP. The problem is you are missing very important tags.

I see no doctype and not even an <html> or <head>tag. ASP code is executed on the server so any browser regardless of the OS can handle it.

grapes911
Feb 19, 2006, 05:25 PM
ASP code is executed on the server so any browser regardless of the OS can handle it.
Yes, it is supposed to. But from experience, I can tell you it doesn't always work correctly in a non-IE browser.

radiantm3
Feb 19, 2006, 05:54 PM
Yes, it is supposed to. But from experience, I can tell you it doesn't always work correctly in a non-IE browser.

I'd say developer error in that case, until I am proven wrong. :)

grapes911
Feb 19, 2006, 06:07 PM
I'd say developer error in that case, until I am proven wrong. :)
No, that's not it. Up through .NET v1, some features worked properly in non-IE browsers and some didn't. It's mostly formating problems. Things are normally useable, they just don't look 100% like they should. This is very well known. .NET 2.0 is supposed to fix much of this, but I haven't gotten a chance to use it yet.

Peyton
Feb 19, 2006, 07:55 PM
hey thanks a lot, I got it to work using php3. For some reason I can't center the thing, but it works in IE perfectly so I'm not complaining.

Thanks a bunch

radiantm3
Feb 19, 2006, 08:18 PM
No, that's not it. Up through .NET v1, some features worked properly in non-IE browsers and some didn't. It's mostly formating problems. Things are normally useable, they just don't look 100% like they should. This is very well known. .NET 2.0 is supposed to fix much of this, but I haven't gotten a chance to use it yet.

Ah, .net is basically asp frameworks right? I'd believe that then. I'm speaking of .asp itself which I think he was working with.

superbovine
Feb 20, 2006, 12:07 AM
hey thanks a lot, I got it to work using php3. For some reason I can't center the thing, but it works in IE perfectly so I'm not complaining.

Thanks a bunch


you need to be working with php4 at least. php3 is missing a lot of functionality that 4 provides, and not very many php servers out there have the correct things enabled to use all the functionality of 3.