PDA

View Full Version : Does if matter what computer it is?




darwen
Mar 16, 2006, 11:02 PM
Why would if make a difference what computer is being used to dual boot. As far as I can see, all of the intel macs should be able to dual boot. Can anyone explain why some computers would not be able to?



jsw
Mar 16, 2006, 11:05 PM
This article (http://news.com.com/How+the+XP-on-Mac+prize+was+won/2100-1042_3-6050524.html?tag=st_lh) states that it works on minis, iMacs, and MacBook Pros - all current Intel Macs.

LimeiBook86
Mar 16, 2006, 11:14 PM
Also it appears that the 20" iMac Core Duos are unsupported until the update. I could be wrong but, that's what I've been hearing :) I'd do it now but, I don't want to re-format my iMac.

I've also noticed that the file you put in CoreServices, I guess that's what lets the intel Mac select the boot device at startup? Or no? Just wondering if an uninstall is easy incase it screws up or something.

Steve1496
Mar 17, 2006, 12:14 PM
The biggest reason some of the computers may not boot is graphics/vga. The CSM was developed on a 17" iMac, so that and 15"MBP will work (they use mostly the same hardware). The Mac Mini uses Intel GMA950 graphics, so the CSM had to be modified (the fill size) to fit the Mini's graphics.

It's correct that the 20" iMac did not work, but last night blanka (developer behind the project) and myself made some good progress. The problem is it freezes at "Setup is Copying Files". Hopefully we should be able to get a working version of xom.efi for 20"iMacs out soon.

iPhil
Mar 17, 2006, 12:24 PM
Even If vista could run native speed on x86 Mac (dual boot) i'd hate it.. :eek: :eek:


Reason why: xp/vista should stay on dell/hp etc.. I'd want str8 apple hardware/software <<IMHO..

I dont wanna have run anti-virus software on a mac even it would be windows' partition.. I already got enough win. hell as it is ..:eek: :eek: :o

Aurora
Mar 17, 2006, 04:32 PM
Even If vista could run native speed on x86 Mac (dual boot) i'd hate it.. :eek: :eek:


Reason why: xp/vista should stay on dell/hp etc.. I'd want str8 apple hardware/software <<IMHO..

I dont wanna have run anti-virus software on a mac even it would be windows' partition.. I already got enough win. hell as it is ..:eek: :eek: :o

Why are you in this particular forum again?

BlueRevolution
Mar 17, 2006, 06:02 PM
The biggest reason some of the computers may not boot is graphics/vga. The CSM was developed on a 17" iMac, so that and 17"MBP will work (they use mostly the same hardware). The Mac Mini uses Intel GMA950 graphics, so the CSM had to be modified (the fill size) to fit the Mini's graphics.

17" MBP huh? do you have some information that should go up on the front page maybe? ;)

Aarow
Mar 17, 2006, 06:18 PM
Even If vista could run native speed on x86 Mac (dual boot) i'd hate it.. :eek: :eek:


Reason why: xp/vista should stay on dell/hp etc.. I'd want str8 apple hardware/software <<IMHO..

I dont wanna have run anti-virus software on a mac even it would be windows' partition.. I already got enough win. hell as it is ..:eek: :eek: :o

Believe it or not but some people don't want two computers on their desk! Craziness.

iPhil
Mar 17, 2006, 07:53 PM
Why are you in this particular forum again?

Windows on a Mac image degrades the apple experience for me,and if the 'user' has external monitor/tower (mac) then a KVM switch work too :eek:

Believe it or not but some people don't want two computers on their desk! Craziness.

true.. but i don't want any M$ft OS or varient of it inside of my mac :eek: :eek: ..

this stuff i've said is IMHO .. and i'm just stating my opinion on the Win. on Mac issue :o :o

treblah
Mar 17, 2006, 08:19 PM
this stuff i've said is IMHO .. and i'm just stating my opinion on the Win. on Mac issue :o :o

IMHO your HO would be better suited for your own HBlog, not a sub forum dedicated to people who are/wanting to do this. :rolleyes: