PDA

View Full Version : How do I know if I have sp2?




Kingsly
Mar 19, 2006, 11:37 AM
I have a Windows XP Professional CD lying around and I was wondering... How do I know if its the right version to do this hack?



andrewheard
Mar 19, 2006, 11:41 AM
It should say on the disc itself. If you don't have service pack 2 then you can easily slipstream it in. Here (http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sp2_slipstream.asp) are some instructions.

Kingsly
Mar 19, 2006, 11:45 AM
Thanks. I believe its a volume license CD, does that change anything?

andy89
Mar 19, 2006, 11:45 AM
Can someone tell me what slipstream means?:confused:
I dunno

yellow
Mar 19, 2006, 11:50 AM
Can someone tell me what slipstream means?:confused:

It's been a while since I've covered slipstreaming, or combining, a service pack into Windows (link),

?? :confused:

CoMpX
Mar 19, 2006, 11:51 AM
You will know if you have SP2 if your computer constantly crashes and locks up while doing menial tasks like using Word.

Lol, sorry I had to. It should tell you in System Properties or whatever it's called.

andrewheard
Mar 19, 2006, 11:52 AM
I'm sorry but I don't know anything about volume licensing. Slipstreaming is taking an original windows xp disc and merging service packs or windows updates with it. You can burn it to cd and then whenever you reinstall you have most of the recent updates. I'm assuming its legal as microsoft provides the functionality.

Kingsly
Mar 19, 2006, 01:45 PM
You will know if you have SP2 if your computer constantly crashes and locks up while doing menial tasks like using Word.

Lol, sorry I had to. It should tell you in System Properties or whatever it's called.
Thanks. *fires up Q to check properties*

satans_banjo
Mar 19, 2006, 02:03 PM
You will know if you have SP2 if your computer constantly crashes and locks up while doing menial tasks like using Word.

Lol, sorry I had to. It should tell you in System Properties or whatever it's called.

I thought that was how you tell it's genuine Windows...

Kingsly
Mar 19, 2006, 02:05 PM
Okay, I checked the properties; I do have SP2. Thanks everyone. Now if they could only fix the heat and GPU issues...

ITASOR
Mar 19, 2006, 02:19 PM
Okay, I checked the properties; I do have SP2. Thanks everyone. Now if they could only fix the heat and GPU issues...

Well wait though, does your XP cd have SP2, or have you simply updated your XP SP1 installation so SP2 with windows update? Just because it's installed doesn't necessarily mean it was on the disc.

MacsRgr8
Mar 20, 2006, 03:29 AM
I thought that was how you tell it's genuine Windows...

:D

I am happy that the original Mac-spirit is still around! :)

What a world we live in today:
Mac OS X native on a generic PC
Windows native on a genuine Mac

If you would have started a thread about this platform-adultery a few years ago you would probably have been banned.... ;)

Timepass
Mar 20, 2006, 08:09 AM
Can someone tell me what slipstream means?:confused:
I dunno


It basicly means that SP2 is installed at the same time the OS is done. No need to boot into windows after you installed it and then install SP2. It is installed along with the OS.

Kingsly
Mar 20, 2006, 09:28 AM
Well wait though, does your XP cd have SP2, or have you simply updated your XP SP1 installation so SP2 with windows update? Just because it's installed doesn't necessarily mean it was on the disc.
Nope, I was running the latest unstable build of Q... no network sharing (i.e. no software update.)

ReanimationLP
Mar 20, 2006, 02:47 PM
If you insert the disc, click the option to see the Release Notes or whatever its called.

It will say SP2 in the notes alot of its SP2. ;)