PDA

View Full Version : Imac G3 233MHZ




yoshiii
Mar 22, 2006, 01:18 AM
Hello I got an old IMac G3 233MHz super cheap and was wondering if I could take out the video card and exchange with another one, a better one more preferabaly. I have a friend who said he thought he saw somewhere that you could do that.
Any know if it can be done?

Help



tidymeup
Mar 22, 2006, 05:22 AM
Hi,

No experience of messing with the old imac's but the video card is not seperate but part fo the logic board as far as I am ware. It would be like trying to swap the card out in mac mini! ..

California
Mar 22, 2006, 05:27 AM
All you can do is find one of those old Sonnet or Daystar CPU upgrades. There is a Sonnet upgrade for the 233mhz that also adds firewire.

MIDI_EVIL
Mar 22, 2006, 05:29 AM
You can't do it, it's part of the logic board, and i'm pretty sure noone makes logic boards for the 233 and also, it wouldn't be very cost effective.

Rich.

eXan
Mar 22, 2006, 05:47 AM
I have once read an article in the MACup magazine about upgrading 233 MHz iMac. They said the video card is upgradable (its PCI)

yoshiii
Mar 22, 2006, 08:40 PM
I have once read an article in the MACup magazine about upgrading 233 MHz iMac. They said the video card is upgradable (its PCI)


How long ago was this?

Maxwell Smart
Mar 22, 2006, 08:47 PM
The only way to upgrade it is to add a proprietary VRAM chip IIRC, it has 2MB by default which can be upgraded to 6MB with a 4MB stick. I may have my facts wrong though.

eXan
Mar 22, 2006, 09:15 PM
How long ago was this?

I dont really remember, somewere in 2003

yoshiii
Mar 23, 2006, 02:45 AM
The only way to upgrade it is to add a proprietary VRAM chip IIRC, it has 2MB by default which can be upgraded to 6MB with a 4MB stick. I may have my facts wrong though.

Where would I get that chip from?

Help

SpaceMagic
Mar 23, 2006, 03:31 AM
I dont think it's upgradeable physically. You can up the memory to 6mb from 2 though. I have a few at home but I'm UK.