Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

londonweb

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 14, 2005
london
I'm relatively new to the world of Macs, and one of things I love about them is that you don't get the gradual degredation in performance that you do with Windows as it gets loaded up with adware, viruses, fragmentation etc etc, usually culminating in a yearly rebuild.

Or so I thought...I've had my powerbook since November 2005, I've barely added any more software since the first week I had it, nor added any more fonts, plug-ins, widgets etc. yet it seems to be getting sluggish of late. Is there anything I can do maintenance-wise to spruce it up a bit? Perhaps it's just my imagination...

Rev E G4 pb with 80gb drive and 1gb ram.

thanks!

xyian

macrumors 6502
May 24, 2004
PDX
...also, you will want to repair your permissions in Disk Utility probably once a month. It's under User>Applications>Utilities>Disk Utility. That usually helps when things are sluggish.

SC68Cal

macrumors 68000
Feb 23, 2006
open terminal and type the following

Code:
sudo periodic daily weekly monthly

I'm not crazy about programs that basically do that command line for you in a fancy GUI, when all you have to do is type that in terminal.

khisayruou

macrumors 6502a
Aug 21, 2004
There are reports that the latest Security Update 2006-02 from apple has made systems slow. I have the same powerbook and things have definitely slowed down. Check out macfixit for possible solutions: there is a post on the front page. http://macfixit.com/

So far repair permissions and clearing the cache did nothing for me.

londonweb

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 14, 2005
london
khisayruou said:
There are reports that the latest Security Update 2006-02 from apple has made systems slow. I have the same powerbook and things have definitely slowed down.

that sounds about right, actually. I'll have a look at the link, thanks.

londonweb