PDA

View Full Version : Will a corporate cd work?




excalibur313
Mar 25, 2006, 12:39 PM
This may seem like a weird question but I have a intel mac with work and I know that my work buys a site license for XP pro SP2 but it is a corporate cd. Is it different enough to make a difference in making the cd required for installing it on the intel mac?



homerjward
Mar 25, 2006, 12:42 PM
afaik the only difference between corporate and regular is corporate has no activation. of course, i'm not sure of the legality of such a thing.

jamesmcd
Mar 25, 2006, 03:53 PM
Yep I installed from a SP2 Corporate CD. Worked perfectly and no activation, like the previous user said.

biohazard6969
Mar 26, 2006, 10:48 AM
do you think it coudl be done with virtual PC install discs? i know its a long shot but thats all that i have at the moment....

biohazard6969
Mar 28, 2006, 06:43 PM
does anyone have any idea? i need to know if i'll have to go out and buy XP or not because i really wnat to do this

excalibur313
Mar 29, 2006, 12:02 AM
So the VPC cd has VPC and windows xp? How is it set up on the cd? Is there a way you can extract only the windows files to the hard drive to alter an reburn?

Nermal
Mar 29, 2006, 12:04 AM
The Windows CD that comes with VPC is not bootable. However, the Mac patch *may* get around this as it uses Mac boot files.