PDA

View Full Version : Run Windows Apps On A G4 Without Running Windows




wmmk
Mar 29, 2006, 10:32 AM
is there anything like rosetta (but backwards) with WINE or DARWINE uilt in?
thanks



yippy
Mar 29, 2006, 10:34 AM
No there is not. The only way you could possibly run a Windows app on a G4 or G5 without running Windows is to emulate x86 linux and then use wine. This option will probably be much slower than just using Virtual PC.

vniow
Mar 29, 2006, 10:35 AM
The PPC version of Darwine is designed to be used with an x86 emulator. (http://darwine.opendarwin.org/)

wmmk
Mar 29, 2006, 10:51 AM
ok, now i have qemu and darwine ppc, what do i do?
again, i don't want to have to boot xp
thanks you all so much (especially vinow) for the quick and helpful responses.

grabberslasher
Mar 29, 2006, 11:10 AM
ok, now i have qemu and darwine ppc, what do i do?
again, i don't want to have to boot xp
thanks you all so much (especially vinow) for the quick and helpful responses.

Sorry but that won't happen for you yet - Darwine is currently not able to use qemu to emulate binaries. They're working on it though!

wmmk
Mar 29, 2006, 11:14 AM
thanks for the info , but DARN!! is there anything else i can do with darwine to run real windows apps?
p.s. how, did they make those "sample winelib applications"? i wonder if i could turn a egular app into one of those.
are there any solutions like darwine+qemu, or am i just out of luck?

vinow, have you used x86 emulators with darwine successfully?
if so, which ones
THANK YOU SO MUCH:D

wmmk
Mar 29, 2006, 04:46 PM
ok, time for a crazy/awesome idea. darwine runs in x11, right? why not make a version of x11 that is an emulator in itsself!?!?! Then, you can have your x86 x11 and your ppc x11
BINGO:D :)

can i run darwine directly in qemu (i am actually using q, but theyr the amse thing)