PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading Powerbook G4 (Titanium) RAM




sail
Mar 31, 2006, 03:27 AM
Hi, still pretty new to Macs, but loving my journey so far!

I would like to upgrade my 2 x modules of 256MB RAM, SODIMM, SDRAM, PC133 to 2 x 512MB modules... or a 1GB one?

Does this mean it can't take - 512Mb PC3200 DDR SODIMM?

Also, I flipped my PB over and unscrewed the back, but couldn't find where the modules would fit. Can anyone help with a diagram/pic?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Sail



California
Mar 31, 2006, 03:45 AM
Hi, still pretty new to Macs, but loving my journey so far!

I would like to upgrade my 2 x modules of 256MB RAM, SODIMM, SDRAM, PC133 to 2 x 512MB modules... or a 1GB one?

Does this mean it can't take - 512Mb PC3200 DDR SODIMM?

Also, I flipped my PB over and unscrewed the back, but couldn't find where the modules would fit. Can anyone help with a diagram/pic?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Sail

You can only put two 512mb modules in for one gig total. You lift up the keyboard from the top two tabs (go to pbfixit.com for a diagram) and take out the two 256mbs and plop in the new ones.

sail
Mar 31, 2006, 09:35 AM
Great stuff!

Thanks for this! Ppl here are helpful as ever!

Sail

superwoman
Apr 1, 2006, 02:06 AM
Titanium Powerbooks can't take DDR SODIMM!
You need to get PC133 SDRAM SODIMM!
And yes, 2x512MB sticks is the max you can put in.

sail
Apr 1, 2006, 02:47 AM
Thanks - this is something I've learned in the last 24 hours!

gman71882
Apr 1, 2006, 12:42 PM
The Chip Merchant (http://www.thechipmerchant.com/items.asp?CartId={CDA6716F-FCE1-426A-9F5C-5E1D25E9BEVERESTE50}&Cc=RAMPBTITAN&iTpStatus=0&Tp=&Bc=) has good deals on the RAM you would need. For Titanium Powerbooks.
:cool:

sail
Apr 2, 2006, 11:33 AM
Thanks - but does anyone have any suggestions on cheaper RAM from the UK? I got one quote for 2 x 512MB mods for 115...

THANKS

Sail