PDA

View Full Version : two ipods on one computer




thecore
Apr 10, 2006, 04:03 PM
my oldest son has last years ipod on his computer. My other son just recieved a new ipod. when he goes to load the cd it tells him that he can not. WHY?



gauchogolfer
Apr 10, 2006, 04:11 PM
my oldest son has last years ipod on his computer. My other son just recieved a new ipod. when he goes to load the cd it tells him that he can not. WHY?

Just to clarify a few points:

When you say 'load the cd' what exactly do you mean? Move music from CD to the iPod, install iPod software that came with the new one, etc.

Also, I don't think it matters, but is the computer running Windows or OS X?

This might help get you a quicker response here.

Cinematographer
Apr 10, 2006, 04:13 PM
It should work actually. I do it all the time.

What kind of iPods? What exactly do the error messages look like?

Mitthrawnuruodo
Apr 10, 2006, 04:33 PM
How to use multiple iPods with one computer (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=300432)

thecore
Apr 10, 2006, 04:54 PM
The ipod we just got is the video one and the one we got last year is not. Is there a difference in the cd's you have to load that come with the ipods?

gauchogolfer
Apr 10, 2006, 05:02 PM
The ipod we just got is the video one and the one we got last year is not. Is there a difference in the cd's you have to load that come with the ipods?

The short answer is yes, there is a difference.

The new one should be boxed with an installation disc, after running that you should be fine. I'm a bit surprised that iTunes wouldn't recognize the new one on its own; are you using the most up-to-date version of iTunes? If not, I suggest updating to the most recent version if possible. Really, though, everything you need to work should be in the box.

OT: Mitthrawnuruodo, isn't a bit late for we Europeans to be up? :rolleyes:

thecore
Apr 10, 2006, 05:05 PM
I think we have figured out why it would not take the cd. Can I use the program that the older one is using or do I need to load its own cd?

gauchogolfer
Apr 10, 2006, 05:14 PM
I think we have figured out why it would not take the cd. Can I use the program that the older one is using or do I need to load its own cd?


I would use the installation cd that came with your new iPod. The older one will not have the correct drivers for you.

Mitthrawnuruodo
Apr 10, 2006, 05:32 PM
OT: Mitthrawnuruodo, isn't a bit late for we Europeans to be up? :rolleyes:11:30 PM, wasn't too late... now it's just over midnight... and time for bed... soon, anyway... ;)

Feeble attempt to get on topic again: Always keep iTunes (http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/) and the iPods (http://www.apple.com/ipod/download/) up-to-date with the latest software and you should be fine... :)

student_trap
Apr 11, 2006, 02:38 PM
both ipods should run using the same itunes program (i have 6 ipods that connect to mine without any problems).

However, if you haven't updated to the latest version of itunes, you may not have all of the correct drivers needed to use the new ipod to its full potential.

Compatiblepoker
Apr 11, 2006, 04:56 PM
11:30 PM, wasn't too late... now it's just over midnight... and time for bed... soon, anyway... ;)

Feeble attempt to get on topic again: Always keep iTunes (http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/) and the iPods (http://www.apple.com/ipod/download/) up-to-date with the latest software and you should be fine... :)

Keeping up to date. Thats the problem right there. Everything is always out of date. :)

min6characters
Apr 13, 2006, 01:31 PM
I would use the installation cd that came with your new iPod. The older one will not have the correct drivers for you.

Not sure if this is a dumb question... but here it is: I had downloaded iTunes before getting an iPod in order to rip my CDs into a library. Now that I purchased the iPod, is it actually necessary to use the installation CD? Does that contain anything I don't already have in the latest version of iTunes that I downloaded?

ChrisBrightwell
Apr 13, 2006, 02:04 PM
NI had downloaded iTunes before getting an iPod in order to rip my CDs into a library. Now that I purchased the iPod, is it actually necessary to use the installation CD? No. Just make sure your iTunes version is the latest.

calebjohnston
Apr 13, 2006, 02:19 PM
Who the hell has 6 iPods? Are you kidding me?

pigbat
Apr 13, 2006, 04:03 PM
I do. Family of 5.

viccles
Apr 13, 2006, 11:33 PM
I will have 3 next week if that counts :p

Counterfit
Apr 14, 2006, 01:53 AM
I would use the installation cd that came with your new iPod. The older one will not have the correct drivers for you.
Yes it will. Apple includes the latest drivers with every version of iTunes. Chances are if you updated to the latest version when it came out, it has the drivers you need.

student_trap
Apr 14, 2006, 05:37 AM
Who the hell has 6 iPods? Are you kidding me?

its not as bad as it sounds, i have 2 3G's, a 4G and a shuffle, and my little sister has no computer so uses mine for syncing, along with my girlfriend.