PDA

View Full Version : Test my Tetris on PPC!




jadam
Apr 14, 2006, 07:22 PM
So could someone please test out my tetris clone on a PPC mac? Right now I only have an Intel iMac to test it out with.

Also Feedback would be welcome :-D

And if any good graphics artists are around, you can mess around with the data folder and change the cube graphics. If you come up with something nice let me know!

Ooo Game is at

http://www40.brinkster.com/cub3d/ (intel only atm :/ first and only link on the site)

And yes its BETA, theres a bug that occur with the collison on the right side of the screen, and the game doesn't really end heh. Esc quits and the score is in binary :-D Also You get the most points for getting the most amount of lines in one go.

P.S. SDL Framework is required.



realityisterror
Apr 14, 2006, 07:28 PM
http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/3613/picture18zv.jpg

You need to compile a Universal binary... the one in the .zip is Intel only...

And you should probably get those kinks worked out, it sounds like it'd be really annoying to play as it is :p


reality

jadam
Apr 14, 2006, 08:30 PM
Doh! I thought XCode automatically compiled PPC and Intel for you.

Ohh well Ill fix it up tomorrow along with those little kinksand ill add some sound ;-) Programmer sound that is muhaha.

Thanks!

GFLPraxis
Apr 14, 2006, 10:25 PM
Doh! I thought XCode automatically compiled PPC and Intel for you.

Ohh well Ill fix it up tomorrow along with those little kinksand ill add some sound ;-) Programmer sound that is muhaha.

Thanks!

It's a check box. You have to check the box. Quite easy :)

cowschickens13
Apr 14, 2006, 11:45 PM
yeah, id be happy to test on my PPC, just need a UB!

jadam
Apr 15, 2006, 10:34 AM
Ok!

http://www40.brinkster.com/cub3d/FallingBlocksBeta.zip

its almost done! The bugs have been kinked out and it SHOULD work on ppc now as I did change it to build for ppc and i386.
Enter starts a new game
Esc Quits the game :D

No sound or music yet although I have composed a tune for it!

Lemme know how it works now on PPC macs.

t1rider321
Apr 15, 2006, 10:58 AM
Ok!

http://www40.brinkster.com/cub3d/FallingBlocksBeta.zip

its almost done! The bugs have been kinked out and it SHOULD work on ppc now as I did change it to build for ppc and i386.
Enter starts a new game
Esc Quits the game :D

No sound or music yet although I have composed a tune for it!

Lemme know how it works now on PPC macs.
same error code

jsm4182
Apr 15, 2006, 11:00 AM
still doesn't work on ppc, same message comes up.

jadam
Apr 15, 2006, 11:31 AM
gah! ok lemme try to see whats up with xcode...

It seems like its a problem with SDL... Im using the Universal SDL framework but its only compiling for intel :-/

Steve1496
Apr 15, 2006, 01:05 PM
Just as a note, it doesn't work on my intel mac either. It doesn't open--just pops up in the dock for a split second, then fades away.

jadam
Apr 15, 2006, 01:27 PM
Thats probablly because you don't have SDL installed on your comp. Now to figure out how to get SDL to put itself into my .app :D

As far as making it compile for ppc im clueless at the moment :-/

realityisterror
Apr 15, 2006, 01:55 PM
What is SDL?

I'd Google it, but I'm sure there'd be waayy too many results for something as vague as "SDL"...

reality

jadam
Apr 15, 2006, 03:20 PM
:D SDL is the simple direct media layer. If you did google for it you would find the SDL web site :-P It's like DirectX lite.

http://www40.brinkster.com/cub3d/ (First and only link on the site)

Theres an intel version of the game with the SDL Framework built in so it SHOULD work on intel macs. Its not universal though still got to figure that one out.

jadam
Apr 16, 2006, 07:40 PM
Unfortunately im out of luck with trying to get the app to compile as a universal binary... Best I can do is a OS X Intel version. File size jumped a lot because I had to include the SDL Framework in the application. Also posted a Windows XP version.

http://www40.brinkster.com/cub3d