PDA

View Full Version : Anyone used a 2GB ram module in a Powerbook?




munckee
Apr 18, 2006, 06:20 PM
I noticed a retailer selling a 2GB ram module for Powerbook G4's. Anyone have experience with these?

I know that the 15", for example, is listed as using 2GB of ram max; does anyone know if this is limited by the hardware somehow, or if that's simply because bigger modules weren't available at the time the computer came out?



kretzy
Apr 18, 2006, 06:22 PM
I always thought that that the maximum was two 1GB sticks because of hardware restrictions. I could be wrong though.

MIDI_EVIL
Apr 18, 2006, 06:26 PM
I read that it is possible. I'm guessing the limit is because of the fact there were no 2GB SO-DIMM modules when the PowerBook was first released.

Rich.

generik
Apr 18, 2006, 09:06 PM
How much are those? IIRC they are extremely expensive!

munckee
Apr 18, 2006, 11:57 PM
Apparently what I saw that I thought was a 2GB module was actually a 2 x 1GB kit. It wasn't well-specified on the site.