PDA

View Full Version : XCode first-time config wizard - how can I run it again?




donaldGuy
Jun 10, 2006, 10:54 PM
Hey

I recently purchased a black MacBook (my first Mac:) ) and since I already had experience in C++, Java, and some OpenGL that I'd try some Mac programming..

I installed the Developer Tools from the OSX cd and opened up Xcode..
It popped up a configuration wizard type thing, but since it was late and I didn't want to think I hit cancel, I expected that it would be like Mail and exit and restart this wizard the next time I opened Xcode.. but instead it just left me with an empty screen with an Xcode taskbar..

Now, I realize all these options are assumably available from the prefrences menu, but I don't know what they are.. I figured it would just be easier to run this Wizard again. I looked around but I couldn't find that option.

My next thought was to reinstall the Developer Tools so I ran the /Developer/Tools/uninstall-devtools.pl (as root) and reinstalled from the CD. Nevertheless, when I opened Xcode I was once again not given the wizard I had previously seen. Next I thought there must be some latent config files laying around so I ran a spotlight search and found the /Library/Application Support/Apple/Developer Tools folder.. I sent it to Trash and tried to open Xcode again, still no Wizard. I emptied Trash, still none. With these files removed (Which I figured was probably a bad thing) I re-un-installed the Developer Tools. I verified at this poin that a Spotlight search for Xcode returned nothing apparently useful. I reinstalled, reran Xcode, still no wizard!

I googled, searched ADC and didn't turn up anything..

so, what am I missing, how do I rerun that Wizard? (short of reinstalling OSX)

Thanks in Advace,
~Donald Guy



HexMonkey
Jun 10, 2006, 11:05 PM
Delete ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Xcode.plist and it should show it again.

mduser63
Jun 10, 2006, 11:12 PM
If you saw what I think you saw, it's just the new project dialog(s). Going to File->New Project (or cmd-shift-N) will bring it up again.

donaldGuy
Jun 10, 2006, 11:57 PM
HexMonkey was right.

and no it was a "New User" wizard, not the "New Project" dialog

it endend up being kinda useless... oh well, Thanks anyway

mduser63
Jun 11, 2006, 01:09 AM
HexMonkey was right.

HexMonkey is usually right. He's helped me out more than once. Glad to hear that you figured it out.