PDA

View Full Version : does firewire cable come with powermac?


wormy
Feb 25, 2003, 10:02 AM
just wondering if apple includes a firewire cable with a new power mac or if I need to buy one myself.

patrick0brien
Feb 25, 2003, 10:11 AM
-wormy

Good question. Every PMG4 I've purchased up throught the Quicksilver has a 6-pin to 4-pin FireWire cable. Now that's not a full Firewire cable of course. So I guess the answer is no.

wormy
Feb 25, 2003, 10:19 AM
thanks! actually I only need a 4 pin to 6 pin cable. any idea how long it is?

MacBandit
Feb 25, 2003, 10:23 AM
My MDD PowerMac did not come with any sort of FireWire cable.

Nipsy
Feb 25, 2003, 10:24 AM
Neither my Quicksilver nor my MDD came with a FireWire cable.

Rower_CPU
Feb 25, 2003, 10:26 AM
Nor did mine. And neither of my TiPBs came with one.

Usually the peripherals (hard drive, camera, etc.) come with the cable.

Bear
Feb 25, 2003, 11:36 AM
So far all of the firewire peripherals I have bought have come with firewire cables.

The only reasons I can think of why someone might need to buy a firewire cable are:
Need a longer (or shorter) cable.
Use a Mac in firewire target mode and they have no cables.
replace a bad/damaged cable

Macmaniac
Feb 25, 2003, 11:49 AM
My iMac CRT came with one, but now I've noticed that Apple no longer puts cables in for free, you have to pay $30 for one from Apple. Thats a really dumb idea to not provide cables any more because first time users like being to use iMovie out of the box!

wormy
Feb 25, 2003, 11:56 AM
Oh ok, I bought a Sony DVCAM deck and it didnt come with one. Guess I'll just order one from Apple before my computer gets here.

wormy
Feb 25, 2003, 12:02 PM
One more question, is the Firewire 400 I/O on the power mac 4 or 6 pin? Just want to make sure I get the right cable.

Rower_CPU
Feb 25, 2003, 12:07 PM
All Macs have 6 pin ports.

idkew
Feb 25, 2003, 12:08 PM
it is 6 on the computer.

6pins= powered firewire
4pins= unpowered cable

MacBandit
Feb 25, 2003, 09:00 PM
Originally posted by wormy
Oh ok, I bought a Sony DVCAM deck and it didnt come with one. Guess I'll just order one from Apple before my computer gets here.

Don't buy one from Apple. Get a Belkin or other major name brand one you will pay half the price.

iJon
Feb 25, 2003, 09:14 PM
none of the macs come with them anymore, they used to. all the macs come with a modem wire but thats it. the powermacs come with a usb extension because they know people like to put their powermacs on the floor and the keyboard needs to reach if they dont have an apple monitor.

iJon

yzedf
Feb 25, 2003, 09:57 PM
Originally posted by iJon
none of the macs come with them anymore, they used to. all the macs come with a modem wire but thats it. the powermacs come with a usb extension because they know people like to put their powermacs on the floor and the keyboard needs to reach if they dont have an apple monitor.

iJon

cat5 cable too ;)

FelixDerKater
Feb 25, 2003, 10:37 PM
No free FireWire cable with my TiBook 500. All I got was a modem cable.

timbloom
Feb 26, 2003, 12:19 AM
Originally posted by iJon
none of the macs come with them anymore, they used to. all the macs come with a modem wire but thats it. the powermacs come with a usb extension because they know people like to put their powermacs on the floor and the keyboard needs to reach if they dont have an apple monitor.

iJon

I believe that now they no longer come with an extension cable for the usb either, now what ADC monitors have the handy USB ports on the back... which is really sad because the cable is so short.

MacBandit
Feb 26, 2003, 12:29 AM
Originally posted by timbloom
I believe that now they no longer come with an extension cable for the usb either, now what ADC monitors have the handy USB ports on the back... which is really sad because the cable is so short.

If they don't come with the USB extension that would be a very recent thing. My Dual/GHz/DDR PowerMac I got in August came with one.

timbloom
Feb 26, 2003, 12:35 AM
Originally posted by MacBandit
If they don't come with the USB extension that would be a very recent thing. My Dual/GHz/DDR PowerMac I got in August came with one.

Well then, I must be wrong then, when I recently worked at a computer store they did not come with them, but I went back to college right when the MDD's started to ship. That could explain it.

wormy
Feb 26, 2003, 07:49 AM
Originally posted by MacBandit
Don't buy one from Apple. Get a Belkin or other major name brand one you will pay half the price.

Hmmm, I've heard from some Final Cut users that they've had problems with some non-Apple cables and their dv decks. I'm just gonna stick with Apple. $27 w/free shipping doesn't seem so bad after taking a trip tp Best Buy or Radioshack.

Bear
Feb 26, 2003, 08:06 AM
Originally posted by wormy
Hmmm, I've heard from some Final Cut users that they've had problems with some non-Apple cables and their dv decks. I'm just gonna stick with Apple. $27 w/free shipping doesn't seem so bad after taking a trip tp Best Buy or Radioshack.
No need to deal with idiot clerks, no need to go and find out they don't have any.

And the cables aren't really that much less expensive unless you go with a no-name cable. Which means you have no clue what you're really getting.

DakotaGuy
Feb 26, 2003, 08:27 AM
I got one with my iMac DV, but not with my iBook. I guess they included them in the iMac DV's probably because they were touting digital video at the time.

Le Big Mac
Feb 26, 2003, 08:31 AM
Originally posted by iJon
. . . all the macs come with a modem wire but thats it. . . .
iJon

Love that "modem" wire. I have a hundred extra phone line cables (cat3, right?) lying around. Is the modem cable any different from those? :rolleyes:

Why not just call it a "phone cord," or would it sound like less of a bargain if that's what they called it?:confused: