PDA

View Full Version : Hosting a site on my iBook.




Hummer
Jun 29, 2006, 06:10 PM
I was wondering if it is possible to host my domain on my ibook and get mail and everything. Is this possible? And if so how can I do it?



DannySmurf
Jun 29, 2006, 10:52 PM
Sure. IIRC, every Mac comes with a copy of Apache (and if not you can download it for free). Here's an article about getting it set up (it's for OSX 10.2, so it's a bit dated but it should all still apply to 10.4):

http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/mac/2002/08/23/jaguar_server.html

jsw
Jun 29, 2006, 10:52 PM
Just remember that it'll only work as long as the iBook is connected to the Internet on a known/knowable IP and not sleeping/off.

Hummer
Jun 30, 2006, 12:18 PM
I found out how to do it, but that site doesn't really give much instruction on how to point my domain to my machine, anyone know how?

realityisterror
Jun 30, 2006, 12:25 PM
If you want to do it for free, I recommend either DynDNS (http://www.dyndns.org) or No-IP (http://www.no-ip.com).

These won't give you clean domain names for free, only subdomains, but I believe No-IP has a paid option for domain names.

ITASOR
Jun 30, 2006, 12:28 PM
If you want to do it for free, I recommend either DynDNS (http://www.dyndns.org) or No-IP (http://www.no-ip.com).

These won't give you clean domain names for free, only subdomains, but I believe No-IP has a paid option for domain names.

I use the free DynDNS with my Linksys WRT54G (it has an option in the prefs to setup DynDNS with my dynamic IP), and I love it! Works great.

Hummer
Jun 30, 2006, 12:42 PM
I already have a domain registered. I was wondering if I can use that.

jsw
Jun 30, 2006, 12:44 PM
I already have a domain registered. I was wondering if I can use that.Odds are, no. You'd need at least a static IP address. Do you have one?

Hummer
Jun 30, 2006, 12:49 PM
Odds are, no. You'd need at least a static IP address. Do you have one?

I have a dynamic IP.

jsw
Jun 30, 2006, 12:50 PM
I have a dynamic IP. Then you won't be able to use a registered domain name, as that would require a static IP for the Domain Name Servers to use. Unless, of course, someone more knowledgeable than me can come up with a solution. :)

Edit: FWIW, ASO (http://asmallorange.com/services/hosting/) will host you for $25/year. Pretty decent if your bandwidth requirements are low.

Hummer
Jun 30, 2006, 01:14 PM
I got it to work with my domain with my dymnamic dns. Thanks guys.