PDA

View Full Version : iBook/AirPort issues




Sofa King
Jul 5, 2006, 09:16 PM
Hello All,

Im having very bad recption with a newer 12" G4 1.33 IBook. It has a stock airport card.

At home, my reception is good.

At work, the transmitter is a few rooms away, but no greater distance than at home. Some times never seeing the point, but never getting anymore than 2 or 3 "bars" in the connect window.

heres the rub,
I have a 2GHZ DP G5, [in a aluminum flight case] with an airport card, right next to me at work, and its recpetion is perfect.


I hope i have furnished you all with enough info to help me solve the issue.
Any ideas would greatlly appreciated.

thanks
Sean



mad jew
Jul 6, 2006, 03:27 AM
Is the G5 blocking the reception? Are you able to change the broadcast channel of the router? :)

Sofa King
Jul 6, 2006, 10:30 AM
Is the G5 blocking the reception? Are you able to change the broadcast channel of the router? :)


Thank you for the reply.

Im not sure about the changing the channel. I will check that.
But I am sure that this happens regardless of whether the G5 is on or not.

thanks again
Sean

Sofa King
Jul 6, 2006, 09:39 PM
Is the G5 blocking the reception? Are you able to change the broadcast channel of the router? :)

I tried changing the channel, no better reception.

one thing to think about,
it seems to work, if i quit all internet apps, then start them again.
it seems weak, but usuable, then once ive got a few things open at once is where i notice the drop outs.

thanks again
Sean

mad jew
Jul 6, 2006, 10:30 PM
Okay, try setting up a new location in the Network pane of System Preferences and rejoining the network. :)

Sofa King
Jul 7, 2006, 10:22 AM
Okay, try setting up a new location in the Network pane of System Preferences and rejoining the network. :)


OK
Dumb guy question coming.
I need to set up a new location on both the IBook and the G5, correct?

Anything need to be done at the transmitter?

thanks again

Sean

mad jew
Jul 7, 2006, 06:57 PM
Nah, leave the transmitter at this stage and set up a new location on the iBook. You can leave the G5 alone since it seems to be working well. :)