PDA

View Full Version : iMovie 3.0.2 out


GeeYouEye
Mar 6, 2003, 03:33 PM
In your software update.

This software update provides improved performance and stability with iMovie 3.

For more information on iMovie, see http://www.apple.com/imovie

The requirements for iMovie 3.0.2 are:

QuickTime 6.1 or later
Macintosh computer with PowerPC G3 or G4 processor (700 MHz or greater G3 recommended)
256MB of physical RAM
Mac OS X v10.1.5 or later (Mac OS X v10.2.4 or later recommended)
1024 x 768 screen resolution or higher

Freg3000
Mar 6, 2003, 03:48 PM
Hopefully it will be a good update......I am downloading now. :)

I love Apple updates.

Edit: Seems pretty good. Now when I click on something, it does it immediatly-no more waiting. It still takes a lot of time to load when launching. I'll accept it; it's a great program anyway.

blackpeter
Mar 6, 2003, 03:51 PM
"? Macintosh computer with PowerPC G3 or G4 processor (700 MHz or greater G3 recommended)"

Um, so should I not install this on my G4 533Mhz?

Sonofhaig
Mar 6, 2003, 03:55 PM
I had such problems with this app. I really hope they fixed it!

Freg3000
Mar 6, 2003, 03:57 PM
Originally posted by tfaz1
"? Macintosh computer with PowerPC G3 or G4 processor (700 MHz or greater G3 recommended)"

Um, so should I not install this on my G4 533Mhz?

Of course you should. As I read it, any G4 and only G3s that are 700 MHz or greater should install it. The blurb that came with this update does not specify any minimum G4 speed. Download away!

Mudbug
Mar 6, 2003, 04:02 PM
I'll post an update when it's working. Hopefully there's an on/off key for the Ken Burns effect

edit: Nope - no on/off
My wife wants to make a movie for her mom with a mix of video and about 300 or so photos, and the Burns Effect just takes too long on import

Mal
Mar 6, 2003, 04:18 PM
Hey, mudbug,
there's a way to turn off the Ken Burns effect by editing the preference file, it's been posted lots of times on here. It's not as simple as just clicking a radio button in the preferences, but it works.

JW

MaxArturo
Mar 6, 2003, 04:21 PM
I want an iMovie that doesn't require me to shut down everything else before I run it.

MrMacMan
Mar 6, 2003, 04:22 PM
Originally posted by tfaz1
"? Macintosh computer with PowerPC G3 or G4 processor (700 MHz or greater G3 recommended)"

Um, so should I not install this on my G4 533Mhz?

More like apple goofed when it said iMovie 3 could be used on older compters.

Um... 700 is alot people, why so high?

Originally posted by agreenster
I HATE THAT!!! HATE IT HATE IT HATE IT!

Everyone Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeze stop with the first post nonsense. Does it make you think you are special or something?

Yes, it means you browse the main page a hell of alot, but please you were like 3 min behind. ;)

iJon
Mar 6, 2003, 04:32 PM
Originally posted by MaxArturo
I want an iMovie that doesn't require me to shut down everything else before I run it.
dont know really what you are talking about. I am using imovie with system prefs, safari, and mail open.

iJon

Jaykay
Mar 6, 2003, 04:47 PM
Damn this is beginning to happen quite a lot.

Is there a standalone download?

eyeluvmyimac
Mar 6, 2003, 04:56 PM
WOW! there is a HUGELY VAST difference between .1 and .2 on my machine. First off it took like two bounces to load, then after it loaded things ran smoothly, no jumping around the screen, when i click it goes right when i click no delayed reactions! WOW!

Thanks apple, good update.

BTW - I have 15" iMac G4 800Mhz 512 RAM...

Swinny
Mar 6, 2003, 04:56 PM
....it's getting there!

Download was only 1.9mb (4.4mb in Software update for some reason!)...very quick and painless process...

on my iMac (1GHz) it works a treat...would say things are running 2-3 times quicker in terms of just GUI responsiveness (although resizing the window is still evil!)...although i havent tested around any of the bugs yet, I would say that the bump in responsiveness is what i was looking for most and Apple seem to have delivered with that pretty well...shame rendering times are still the same though.

...interesting point is that min. spec is now a 700MHz G3...would imply that this is as fast as Apple can maybe get things running and are saying users need at least current spec machines to make any use of iMovie 3...

...will see how it works on my 500MHz iBook!

Obviously still need to have a play...but hats-off to apple at this point for appearing to have delievered on my main criticism of iMovie 3 (and listening to their users and responding very quickly!)

Swinny
---------
Webmaster // www.iMovie-user.com

liven2
Mar 6, 2003, 04:58 PM
I am quite pleased with the performance boost!!.. No more delays when wanting to play the video or move play clip head around.. Everyhting is much snappier and much more repsonsive.. this should make many of you very HAppy!! Nice update apple.. I am not sure if it fixed my audio sync problems yet.. I will get back to you on this. GOOD UPDATE APPLE!

cc bcc
Mar 6, 2003, 05:32 PM
How come Apple introduced iMovie too soon? They should stop doing that. Release software when it's finished and optimized.

The fact that they can increase performance so much with a update, shortly after introducing iMovie, is a sign that their quality standards are not very high lately..

Same thing goes for introducing hardware that takes a long time to appear on the market. (Al17, ati 9700 etc.)
Introducing all that hardware and software at the same time (twice a year) is not a good strategy I think. If they'd introduce products when they are really finished and available, they would also get more articles in the press. For people unfamiliar with Apple it would seem that Apple is really busy. So much stuff at once is confusing for most of them. They forget about half of it and remember only 1 or 2 good things. I think Apple should spread it out, and deliver when they promise.

Codemonkey
Mar 6, 2003, 05:35 PM
Switching back and forth between clips and timeline views are nice and fllluuuuuuuiiiiidddd.

WTG Apple!

P.S. - if it's taking a while to load, you either have a lot of iPhoto photos or iTunes music, as it loads boath databases....

G4-450, 768mb RAM, Rage 128.

bigsteve
Mar 6, 2003, 05:40 PM
Originally posted by Mudbug
I'll post an update when it's working. Hopefully there's an on/off key for the Ken Burns effect

edit: Nope - no on/off
My wife wants to make a movie for her mom with a mix of video and about 300 or so photos, and the Burns Effect just takes too long on import

Apple has a way to turn KenBurns off in this Apple Care document, very easy yet effective

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=42986


:)

thekaiser
Mar 6, 2003, 06:24 PM
Do you guys have trouble with the picture import quality in iMovie. I have noticed my pictures look great in iPhoto and not near as good in iMovie. What could cause this? Is there a setting that I missed. Thanks.

thekaiser

bigsteve
Mar 6, 2003, 06:43 PM
Originally posted by thekaiser
Do you guys have trouble with the picture import quality in iMovie. I have noticed my pictures look great in iPhoto and not near as good in iMovie. What could cause this? Is there a setting that I missed. Thanks.

thekaiser


When iMovie is playing the video back it displays it at about 1/4 the resolution of full quality so that the CPU keep up

Read here for more info

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=24787

idkew
Mar 6, 2003, 06:44 PM
yep, my ti667 is now officially slow. g3 or g4, 700mhz makes it time to really want that new 17"...

tosmann
Mar 6, 2003, 07:22 PM
There are still bugs :(

When entering titles, I can't enter text that has "", "", "", "", "" or "" in them !

Meaning.. "ar br Snfrur slandssl" shows up blank !

Very annoying as I can't enter text in my own language !
:( :(

Three thumbs down.

yzedf
Mar 6, 2003, 08:18 PM
software update did not work (twice).

had to go to www.apple.com/imovie to get it.

odd...

still works good though :)

kcmac
Mar 6, 2003, 08:41 PM
Another way to kill the burns affect.

Navigate to and open ~Library/Preferences/com.apple.iMovie3.plist (use TextEdit, plist editor doesn't work)
Locate the entry 'autoApplyPanZoomToImportedStills'
Then two lines down it says 'true' change this to false
Save and open iMovie 3

Now Ken only comes to visit when you want him to. (by hitting the 'apply' button)

Mudbug
Mar 6, 2003, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by kcmac
Another way to kill the burns affect.

Navigate to and open ~Library/Preferences/com.apple.iMovie3.plist (use TextEdit, plist editor doesn't work)
Locate the entry 'autoApplyPanZoomToImportedStills'
Then two lines down it says 'true' change this to false
Save and open iMovie 3

Now Ken only comes to visit when you want him to. (by hitting the 'apply' button)

This is the way I've been looking for. I haven't wanted to turn it off completely forever, and even tho apple tells you to turn them both down to the left, it still takes an extra second to apply. On 413 photos (I finally counted) those seconds add up. Thanks kcmac - you just made my day.

On the note of performance of .1 to .2, on my pbg4 667, I'd say it's running roughly twice to three times faster on simple instructions (move clip from library to track, import audio, etc...) and startup is only 2 bounces in the dock, compared to the 8 bouces it used to take.

And one more note - I switched my boss this week (PBG4 800 - he loved mine...) - that means 20% of our office is now on macs, and counting.

PS - thanks for all the info, guys.

SSmagicman
Mar 6, 2003, 11:51 PM
Hello all,

I saw the story about the update to iMovie, so I fired up the SoftwareUpdater from the System Preferences, but it showed no update. So then I went over to the iMovie page and downloaded it successfully.

However, when I tried to install the update it said it found no appropriate version to be updated. I currently have 3.01 installed. I keep it in a subfolder of the Applications folder called Apple Software. Thinking this might be the problem I moved the app back out into the main Applications folder, ran the updater again, but it still failed to find an appropriate file to update.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks!

Nuc
Mar 7, 2003, 01:13 AM
I started fooling around with the kens burns effect in iMovie 3.02. However the quality of the picture is really bad, and I know it's not because it is a 2048 X 1536 picture. In iPhoto it looks great but in iMovie it's fuzzy. Does anybody have any suggestions. Possibly my processor speed (G3 500 Mhz)? Yea I know I need 700 Mhz to run it but I don't believe this is the total reason for the fuzzy pictures. Thanks in advance!

MacBandit
Mar 7, 2003, 02:04 AM
Originally posted by Nuc
I started fooling around with the kens burns effect in iMovie 3.02. However the quality of the picture is really bad, and I know it's not because it is a 2048 X 1536 picture. In iPhoto it looks great but in iMovie it's fuzzy. Does anybody have any suggestions. Possibly my processor speed (G3 500 Mhz)? Yea I know I need 700 Mhz to run it but I don't believe this is the total reason for the fuzzy pictures. Thanks in advance!

It won't look fuzzy in the finished movie.

MacBandit
Mar 7, 2003, 02:05 AM
Originally posted by SSmagicman
Hello all,

I saw the story about the update to iMovie, so I fired up the SoftwareUpdater from the System Preferences, but it showed no update. So then I went over to the iMovie page and downloaded it successfully.

However, when I tried to install the update it said it found no appropriate version to be updated. I currently have 3.01 installed. I keep it in a subfolder of the Applications folder called Apple Software. Thinking this might be the problem I moved the app back out into the main Applications folder, ran the updater again, but it still failed to find an appropriate file to update.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks!

Delete the prefs for iMovie then run it while it's still in the main applications folder. Then try the updater again. If this doesn't work try repairing the disk permissions.

YoramIH
Mar 7, 2003, 03:37 AM
iMovie 3.0.2 remembers the last setting of the Ken Burns effect. Manually disable zooming once and the effect will be turned off for future photo imports.

daddy-mojo
Mar 7, 2003, 05:10 AM
still sucks on mine, no noticeable improvements, takes a bit to load, still jumpy in the time line, no continuous time (jumps number every 3-5 sec's)...but I am only running with a TiBook 400...FCP runs better then this, of course render times are ridiculous. But then again, I'll be upgrading to a new imac in about another month so I'll be up to speed again.

clonenode
Mar 7, 2003, 08:11 AM
If I had realized iMovie 3 was going to be so problematic, I guess I would have stuck with iMovie 2, which worked GREAT on my iMacs DV SE, 500MGhz. I have 640MB RAM. iMovie 3.0.1 was sluggish and buggy but iMovie 3.0.2 is less so. Actually it's almost as peppy as iMove 2, but not perfect.

sigamy
Mar 7, 2003, 08:41 AM
Explain this to me like I'm a 6-year-old...I have a 500Mhz iBook, I have iMovie 3.0.1 and it is very, very slow. Should I install the 3.0.2 update? Or is a 700Mhz G3 really required?


If 700mhz is needed where can I get iMovie 2?


Thanks,
Brian

stefanp
Mar 7, 2003, 08:57 AM
Hi,

Anyone knows how to d/l a standalone qt 6.1 updater ?

Yes, it appears on my Software Update, but I'm on dialup at home, so it would take too much, and at the office ww only have PC's.

Thanks

stefanp
Mar 7, 2003, 09:06 AM
Originally posted by sigamy
Explain this to me like I'm a 6-year-old...I have a 500Mhz iBook, I have iMovie 3.0.1 and it is very, very slow. Should I install the 3.0.2 update? Or is a 700Mhz G3 really required?


If 700mhz is needed where can I get iMovie 2?


Thanks,
Brian

You should install 3.0.2, it'll speed things up a bit.
If still not satisfied, you can also get iMovie2 from your 2nd Jaguar disk, from the applications package; use Pacifist (http://www.charlessoft.com/) to extract it. Or mail me and I'll send it to you.

pgwalsh
Mar 7, 2003, 11:41 AM
I'm sure this has been discussed or I could find the answer on Apple's website, but does any one know if you can export iMovies to quicktime for the web?

If yes, how's the quality?

Codemonkey
Mar 7, 2003, 11:55 AM
Originally posted by pgwalsh
I'm sure this has been discussed or I could find the answer on Apple's website, but does any one know if you can export iMovies to quicktime for the web?

If yes, how's the quality?

Yes! The quality's poor! 'Cause it's for the web! :-P

Seriously. For a one-click export for the web, it's pretty cool. There are a few more options iirc, if you care to custmize the export (codec, etc). In fact, it also has settings for exporting to be included in emails too. Which is kinda neat.

Very handy movie editor, imho.

Java
Mar 7, 2003, 12:36 PM
Originally posted by Nuc
I started fooling around with the kens burns effect in iMovie 3.02. However the quality of the picture is really bad, and I know it's not because it is a 2048 X 1536 picture. In iPhoto it looks great but in iMovie it's fuzzy. Does anybody have any suggestions. Possibly my processor speed (G3 500 Mhz)? Yea I know I need 700 Mhz to run it but I don't believe this is the total reason for the fuzzy pictures. Thanks in advance!

In editing for DV movies, when you encode with the DV/NTSC format, your videos will look slightly blurry on the monitor. The test is to put it back out onto your DV Cam or DVD. Working in this field, I have seen a lot of people freak out.

If you want to see your video crisp and clear ON THE MONITOR, choose a different codec than DV/NTSC. Try using an animation codec or Sorenson 3.

Trust me, they might look blurry on the screen, but put that video on a DVD, and you'll see the full quality!

bennyek
Mar 7, 2003, 06:03 PM
I am so suprised how much this update helped performance on my Dual 867! very snappy and quick load times.
My PB 550 is still a little sluggish but alot better than before. Thanks apple!!!

Belgium
Mar 8, 2003, 05:16 AM
On my 450Mhz Cube, it still takes ages before it loads, but when it's finally there, it works much smoother now!

Come on Apple, tweak it just a bit further so that we guys with some "old" machines can still use it.

MacBandit
Mar 8, 2003, 10:31 AM
It is definitely much improved. My load times went from 5-7 bounces to 1. I don't know about editing video though as I have nothing to edit at the moment.