PDA

View Full Version : Is it imperative that its SP2?




ljump12
Jul 31, 2006, 10:25 PM
I have an original XP disk, i'd rather not havae to go through and slipstream the disk; i know apple says you need SP2, but is that just to help avoid minor problems, or do you REALLY need it?



xfiftyfour
Jul 31, 2006, 10:31 PM
you really do need SP2. (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=189106)

ammon
Aug 1, 2006, 09:45 PM
Quick answer - Yes. (SP1 Disc doesn't work)

AvA2345
Aug 1, 2006, 09:50 PM
hello i installed xp on my mac and when i try to install the drivers, a message comes up saying "files needed" i press cancel and it sits there for a minute and then says fatal error, and then says the wizard stopped the installer so not all drivers were loaded. can someone please help me? email me at stephenthanshaw@mac.com

tipdrill407
Aug 1, 2006, 09:55 PM
hello i installed xp on my mac and when i try to install the drivers, a message comes up saying "files needed" i press cancel and it sits there for a minute and then says fatal error, and then says the wizard stopped the installer so not all drivers were loaded. can someone please help me? email me at stephenthanshaw@mac.com

I'm not sure of the problem but to the OP this is an example of what can happen if you use a SP1 disc. The drivers will not install.

AvA2345
Aug 1, 2006, 10:02 PM
I'm not sure of the problem but to the OP this is an example of what can happen if you use a SP1 disc. The drivers will not install.

dude i have no idea wat an SP1 disk is haha can you explain?

kainjow
Aug 1, 2006, 10:02 PM
It IS possible to use SP1 and install the drivers. I did it :p but it takes some hacking around in Windows and such. But basically, use an SP2 disk to keep yourself sane.

AvA2345
Aug 1, 2006, 10:04 PM
wats an SP2 disk?!?! haha please explain!

tipdrill407
Aug 1, 2006, 11:15 PM
SP1=Service Pack 1
SP2=Service Pack 2