Is it imperative that its SP2?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ljump12, Jul 31, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #1
    I have an original XP disk, i'd rather not havae to go through and slipstream the disk; i know apple says you need SP2, but is that just to help avoid minor problems, or do you REALLY need it?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    #4
    help!

    hello i installed xp on my mac and when i try to install the drivers, a message comes up saying "files needed" i press cancel and it sits there for a minute and then says fatal error, and then says the wizard stopped the installer so not all drivers were loaded. can someone please help me? email me at stephenthanshaw@mac.com
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #5
    I'm not sure of the problem but to the OP this is an example of what can happen if you use a SP1 disc. The drivers will not install.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    #6
    dude i have no idea wat an SP1 disk is haha can you explain?
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #7
    It IS possible to use SP1 and install the drivers. I did it :p but it takes some hacking around in Windows and such. But basically, use an SP2 disk to keep yourself sane.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006

Share This Page