PDA

View Full Version : eMate upgrades




pEZ
Mar 19, 2003, 06:06 PM
I have an old eMate 300. There are so many new ways to connect to OS X, that I have decided to start using it again. The thing is, I have come to realize that it really doesn't have as much storage space as I need, plus, as people have mentioned in other threads before, it is a bit slower than the MessagePad 2000 and 2100. Does anyone have any suggestions on adding memory (internal or PCMCIA, if you can still get the internal memory) and any ideas for speed boosts?



Eniregnat
Mar 21, 2003, 01:40 PM
Contact NewerRam.com.
The have the memory.
If you can't find it, give them an email.

My eMate is still under warranty.
I bought it 3 years ago from CompUSA, and purchased the 5year warranty. The only problem is that it didn't come with the software CD. Do you know where I can get a copy of it?

Good machine- to bad the batteries are so strange.

pEZ
Mar 21, 2003, 02:15 PM
The two best links I have found regarding everything newton are the United Network of Newton Archives and the Apple Support Archives:

http://www.unna.org
ftp://ftp.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Apple_Software_Updates/

I'm currently developing a website regarding the eMate and only the eMate because even though it's the most recent system, it's one of the hardest to find good information and software for. I'll let you know when I finish it up.

Gotta decide on a domain name first......

pEZ
Mar 21, 2003, 02:16 PM
And what do you mean by "the batteries are strange"?

Eniregnat
Mar 21, 2003, 04:15 PM
Aside from being difficult to replace (I have two), they are not of the I'll just run down to Radio-Shack and order a replacement kind. It just seemed to me that if the Newton 2100 and 2200 had a cartridge so that a person could use AA's, so should the eMate.

I still love the computer, and until recently, it was my main “field work” computer. It’s perfect for working in remote areas with out worrying about risking a lot of cash should it be damaged or destroyed. The text-to-speech function (never officially released) is/was one of the features that I used most.

I tried using a Handspring Visor with keyboard for working in sketchy environments, but it just kept freezing or cutting out. Now I use a QuickPad Pro for some of my work. My little QuickPad Pro survived and worked after a bus I was in sank into a river in Cambodia. It’s slow, data transfer is a pain in the rear, but it runs for hours on AA’s.

pEZ
Mar 21, 2003, 08:33 PM
I e-mailed NewerRam and they said that they did not carry that type of RAM anymore, as I expected (considering the age of the eMate). Any other ideas for speed?

Eniregnat
Mar 24, 2003, 03:36 PM
http://www.nextag.com/Simple_Technologies_128MB_168PIN~2266929z3znz300000zz1zzematezmainz2-htm

Nextag.com had some hits. I think that there is still some floating out there.

Post Script: SimpleTech does not manufacture the memory any more, and from what I have gleaned from opperators they stopped 5 years ago. There should still be some out there.

Eniregnat
Mar 24, 2003, 03:46 PM
Speed up your Newton (and perhaps eMate) with this.
http://www.panix.com/~clay/newton/query.cgi?accelerators+index

a link site
http://www.panix.com/~clay/newton/

see if this ring helps
http://t.webring.com/hub?ring=newtonring&id=245&hub

I am looking through my Newton archives. I try to find something that may help.

Eniregnat
Mar 24, 2003, 05:58 PM
http://www.thisoldnewt.net/index2.html
Might help.

http://www.jksalesinc.com/
Was where I previously purchased a spare eMate battery.
Then it looked to be a text only site.

Can't even find it on eBay. I am headed to my local Apple repair shop to see what they have in their graveyard. Perhaps there is a damaged eMate with the memory upgrade there.

pEZ
Mar 24, 2003, 06:04 PM
Thanks for all your help, I never expected that much dedication to a random question.

I found this one site that claims to have the memory:
http://www.4allmemory.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=search.memorySearch&model=eMate&model_id=13398

It doesn't indicate stock status, so who knows about availability. But it's a possibility.

Eniregnat
Mar 24, 2003, 06:15 PM
Watch out, I contacted 2 venders who clamed to have memory.
In talking with them (toll free) I found that they were selling the 5v flash cards.

I think that I will dig my eMate out of the closet and see if I can improve the preformance with out altering the memory.

By the way, the memory upgrade really does make a diffrence in speed.

pEZ
Mar 24, 2003, 06:21 PM
The only thing that I've done to improve the speed is by using Avi's Backdrop - I was using the Newton Underground backdrop, but Avi's made it a bit snappier.

Let me know if you find any of the chips available. I know they'll be expensive as heck, but whatever.

Will flash memory improve the performance, or is it only the internal upgrade chip that helps?

dethl
Mar 25, 2003, 12:36 AM
Originally posted by Eniregnat
Aside from being difficult to replace (I have two), they are not of the I'll just run down to Radio-Shack and order a replacement kind. It just seemed to me that if the Newton 2100 and 2200 had a cartridge so that a person could use AA's, so should the eMate.


I just purchased and received my 2100 with the battery cage. From what I have heard, the only way to replace the batteries on your emate is to refurbish them.

http://www.pda-soft.de

This site has info on taking your battery apart and replacing the old batteries with new ones. Since I have the battery cage (along with 2-4 packs of 1800mAh batteries, I am not really worried about using the original Newton battery pack.

Also, if you want a cheap alternative to the hard to find Newton adapter, the Newton I received came with a regulated 300mAh (1.5-12v) power converter from radio shack. I plugged it in, after choosing the appropriate setting, and it worked. It should work on the eMate just as easily.

Doctor Q
Mar 25, 2003, 12:48 AM
Originally posted by pEZ
I'm currently developing a website regarding the eMate and only the eMate because even though it's the most recent system, it's one of the hardest to find good information and software for. I'll let you know when I finish it up.

Gotta decide on a domain name first...... How about onlytheemate.com?

There are so many new ways to connect to OS XHow? I've got two eMates that still work but I never considered connecting them to an OS X Mac.

pEZ
Mar 25, 2003, 01:52 AM
Spend some quality time with your local http://www.versiontracker.com website.

Type in "Newton" in the search field, and take a look at NewtSync, Newtourage, and NewTen. Excellent up-and-coming apps for newton connectivity to OS X. The wave of the future meets better PDA technology.

Eniregnat
Mar 25, 2003, 04:46 PM
Some simple names below, from NetworkSolutions info.

emate300.com is available.
emate300.net is available.
emate300.org is available.
emate300.info is available.

It dosn't look like you have to get to inventive about the name.

pEZ
Mar 25, 2003, 06:47 PM
I think I want to be inventive. After all, I am discussing an Apple product.

I thought about greenmachine.com, but there are too many things related to the phrase green machine, including both a drum corps and a vacuum, so maybe not.

Back to Dreamweaver.....

Doctor Q
Mar 25, 2003, 07:31 PM
Originally posted by pEZ
I think I want to be inventive. After all, I am discussing an Apple product.

I thought about greenmachine.com, but there are too many things related to the phrase green machine, including both a drum corps and a vacuum, so maybe not.

Back to Dreamweaver..... These seem to be available:

theclamshell.org

eteam300.com (an anagram)

the-eteam.org (an anagram and play on "The A-Team")

newtonlives.com

ematingbehavior.com

applemate.com

appleemate.com