View Full Version : Too good to be true?
Dostoevsky
Aug 18, 2006, 03:46 PM
Hey guys, I'm a student in the market for a Macbook for college. Cruising around the internet I found a store with rediculous prices. Do yah guys think this is a big scam, or should I go for it? Indonesian internet store ... Hmmm.
http://rosofstore.com/index.php?target=products&product_id=18
I sort of need to get this thing before school starts, so any help would be much appreciated.
WildCowboy
Aug 18, 2006, 03:50 PM
If you have to ask, it's almost certainly a scam. An Indonesian site registered a month ago to a guy with a Gmail account selling stuff at 30-50% off? Run away. Now.
Jaffa Cake
Aug 18, 2006, 03:52 PM
As a general rule of thumb, if it looks too good to be true then it very usually is.
slackersonly
Aug 18, 2006, 03:53 PM
does a bear cr*p in the woods?
wildcowboy points out some really important info.
heavily discounted apple stuff is the #1 warning sign. new website offshore #2.
dont wait for strike #3. run away.
Dostoevsky
Aug 18, 2006, 03:55 PM
Yeah, I'd pretty much figured it out before I posted this. Didn't hurt to ask, though. Thanks a lot guys. I think that I'll just stick to the Apple Store down south.
California
Aug 18, 2006, 05:32 PM
Beware also of a site called bestbuynow or something like that. In Italy and Texas.
viccles
Aug 18, 2006, 05:33 PM
If its too good to be true....it usually is.
Makosuke
Aug 18, 2006, 05:44 PM
If its too good to be true....it usually is.No, if it's too good to be true it always is.
I suppose you could make exceptions for times when you knew the seller and there was a very obvious legitimate reason (as in "not stolen, and not trying to rip a friend off"), but those are so rare they're not even worth mentioning.
Just remember: The phrase is "too good to be true" for a reason.
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.