PDA

View Full Version : Folding on a TiBook




FelixDerKater
Mar 27, 2003, 12:31 PM
Does anyone out there fold on a TiBook? If so, do you use the CLI or GUI versaion? Since I switched over to the CLI version, more WU's are processed in the same amount of time and the fan cuts on less. Is this similar to the results of others?



Mr. Anderson
Mar 27, 2003, 12:32 PM
I fold on my 667 TiPB and use the console. It seems to work best for me.

D

uhlawboi80
Mar 27, 2003, 02:00 PM
i fold on my ti800 but i use the GUI and it gets hot as he!!. is it simpler to just run it in the console?

still easy to turn it off and on or does it set it to a constant background app?

MrMacMan
Mar 27, 2003, 03:40 PM
Get mc68k's scripts.
Install. Pretty simple.

Mr. Anderson
Mar 27, 2003, 03:48 PM
It runs in the background fine. Occassionally the fan comes on, but not often. I've cranked out a good percentage of my WUs from that machine - I'm very happy with it.

D

chibianh
Mar 27, 2003, 06:50 PM
does putting the laptop to sleep affect the process in any way? or will it just continue from where it left off after waking up from sleep? thanks.

ps. i just joined team 3446, btw.. newbie to folding@home.

MrMacMan
Mar 27, 2003, 07:21 PM
Originally posted by chibianh
does putting the laptop to sleep affect the process in any way? or will it just continue from where it left off after waking up from sleep? thanks.

ps. i just joined team 3446, btw.. newbie to folding@home.

note to dis you, but if you post here your probably a member of the F@H team, not someone elses. :p (General Rule of thumb)

Sleep affects Folding by slowing it down, alot. While in sleep mode the processor gets little power... etc very little of the processing power is turned on.

I would just sugest letting the screen shut off after __ amount of minutes. Thats what I do for my computers.

bousozoku
Mar 27, 2003, 08:04 PM
Originally posted by chibianh
does putting the laptop to sleep affect the process in any way? or will it just continue from where it left off after waking up from sleep? thanks.

ps. i just joined team 3446, btw.. newbie to folding@home.

Great to have you with us!

Like everything else in sleep mode, it would be suspended but will start again once the machine wakes from sleep. You could certainly get a lot more folding done by putting the display to sleep but you certainly have to worry about the heat and battery life.

Over Achiever
Mar 27, 2003, 08:30 PM
I'm folding on my 17" powerbook and to extend the display life I set mine to sleep after 10 minutes. (the amount of time depends on you) And i usually fold on AC ... if I'll go on battery then I will pause folding (to give me more batt life), then restart it when i'm back on AC. The heat on this powerbook is not bad...in fact it isn't hot at all.

Oh and I'm running the console version ... I'm interested in the cycles, not the pretty graphics (I already know what a protein looks like...and it gets old after a while) :)

chibianh
Mar 28, 2003, 12:58 AM
ok.. thanks a lot guys. I got another question though. Does mc68k's script for running it in the background change any internet or network settings? I'm just curious cuz ever since i installed the script, i can't pop my email or telnet or ssh into my school. I'm just trying to elimate possibilities as to what the problem is. Thanks.

Anh

Stelliform
Mar 28, 2003, 08:55 AM
I fold on a TiBook and I use the graphical version. I have a question for you guys. I haven't messed with the Mac console version. Is there an easy way to stop and start it? I use my TiBook for work, and when it is folding, I only get a hour of battery life. I really need 3 to finish the day. Therefore I only fold at night.

Does the console version just require typing in the command, having it run and the Ctrl>C to exit it?

chibianh
Mar 28, 2003, 09:06 AM
ok.. my problem was fixed.. it wasn't the scripts.

stelliform, in a word, yes.

Stelliform
Mar 28, 2003, 03:13 PM
Originally posted by chibianh

stelliform, in a word, yes.

In two words... Thank you!! :D

chibianh
Mar 28, 2003, 07:09 PM
i currently use one of mc68k's scripts to do the folding. i chose the setting to begin folding at boot-up. now, if i want to stop that, how would i do it? thanks.

MrMacMan
Mar 28, 2003, 07:59 PM
Originally posted by chibianh
i currently use one of mc68k's scripts to do the folding. i chose the setting to begin folding at boot-up. now, if i want to stop that, how would i do it? thanks.

Go to read me... and yeah. there.

mc68k
Mar 28, 2003, 08:20 PM
Originally posted by chibianh
i currently use one of mc68k's scripts to do the folding. i chose the setting to begin folding at boot-up. now, if i want to stop that, how would i do it? thanks. someone else PMed me about this.

basically it puts a line of code into a file that can only be editied by a super-user in a special way. it's not very easy to explain.

i could build in a command to enable/diable it if you would like.